Anthropologie’s Killing Me!

I was running an errand today, returning an old J.Crew item that I ended up getting store credit for (yippee), and made the move over to Anthropologie. Sigh. Everything was just beautiful to me, I had been away for too long. I sound like I have an addiction problem, which in fact, I do, I completely admit it. So back to the store. Great sale today at my store, lots of Snowscape tanks for $39.95 (got one), a lot of skirts, even the Snow Flower skirt for anyone still looking for it, and a lot of cardis. So while yesterday was technically the sale day, today there were more reductions which is just great news all around. Too bad I didn’t have my camera with me but I tried on the following and fell hard:
                                                               Wright Dress

So pretty in person. I tried the size 0 and it fit great. The material is light, the pockets on the side are perfection, and a good fit up top for the ladies. On my wishlist.

                                                          Speckled Ink Dress

This dress helped me understand just how important online/blog reviews are for those individuals who don’t have an Anthro store nearby and can’t see the item in person. Still love this dress, but it’s different then what I thought it would be. I took a small b/c one look at the xs let me know it wasn’t going to work out. It’s got a zipper in the back, the material is jersey and stretchy, and I especially like the way it shapes the hip area and flows down. Confession time, I had a little difficulty with the shoulder straps, couldn’t get them on right for the longest! Definitely on the wishlist.

                                                           Florid Facade Top

I was floored by this top, I mean I really really like it. Such a beautiful piece, so light, so feminine, the embroidery is just lovely, and must make mine. I tried on the xs and the fit is great, so tts. I didn’t try on the gray, but really thinking about it as well. Very versatile.

                                                   Through-The-Clouds Tank

Geez, another top I love. I tried on the xs and love it. The gray is lighter in person than what it appears online. Very soft, can be tucked in or worn loose. The detailing at the collar is gorgeous, I love embroidery, can’t you tell?

                                                             Free Flow Tank

So I didn’t like this so much! I can’t believe it, I had been staring at it for forever and when other bloggers wore it the fit looked great. I tried on the small though needed an xs, but it just didn’t feel good. I didn’t care for the material, it just kind of hung. Reminder that not all pieces make everyone look equally pretty.

                                                        Winding Road Tank

I had a lot of high hopes for this tank, and already had in mind so many things I would pair it with. When I saw it in person, wasn’t drawn to it the same way. There were little white specs all over it, and that didn’t appeal to me. Plus I thought the material would be softer, but it felt more stiff, just different than what I was expecting. I felt like I could find this elsewhere and wasn’t a unique Anthro piece for me.

Again, I wish I had pictures of me trying them on so I could share and remind myself why certain things worked and didn’t. Meanwhile, I found the laced roses cardigan for a super steal at $29.95 and Sara from Kim’s Anthroholic helped me locate it for $69.95, so now I’ll have to take that back. Just saved $40!! That makes me feel better.

Finally, I leave you with what I wore today. Some other bloggers reminded me about bold-colored tights, so I decided to incorporate the electric blue tights in the outfit. I like it.

ae oxford shirt
j crew bling-button cardi
f21 tiered scallop lace skirt
ae tights
aldo oxfords
at locket

21 thoughts on “Anthropologie’s Killing Me!

  1. Dea – sorry the Free Flow Tank didn't work for you 😦 another petite reader of mine, Rosa, had the same issue – I think the material overwhelmed her. As for the Through-The-Clouds Tank – it's actually available in dark and light gray – I think the light gray is only in-store, so that must be what you saw…my store had both. Just fyi!Love your skirt today lady – super cute.Btw, how do you manage to stay away from Anthro when you work there!?

  2. I was also floored by the Florid Facade Blouse. I really wanted it, but I've spent way too much! I was going to get it with my next check, but then the Hydrangea Flurry Vest went on sale, so I had to get that instead. I really hope the Florid Facade Blouse doesn't sell out.

  3. I have the Speckled Ink dress and the Florid Facade shirt and I love them! Once it gets warmer, I am going to wear them together!The Free Flow tank did not work for me either. I thought I was the only one that couldn't make this one work.PS… your electric blue tights are speaking to me. I think I need some bold tights now!

  4. Kim – I'm actually no longer working there, mainly seasonal, but we still keep in contact so I can go in when needed. It works best with my school schedule. Yeah, the free flow tank – not so much. And thanks for the heads up on the different shades of gray on the through-the-clouds tank, didn't know that.Tien- tell me about it, I really want both colors of the Florid Facade blouse, it's divineAdy- just wrote you about the snow flower skirt, and so glad to hear you've got two pieces I'm coveting!!Angela- I took a chance with the tights and glad it looks pretty

  5. Fashion Therapist- be careful with that leg and don't hurt it while you spring across the street to Anthro!! Seriously, it's like a playground in there, I hope it has a great sale section!!

  6. the free flow tank didn't work for me either. nor did the horizon line dress…SO disappointed bc it looked great on so many other bloggers. love the outfit – esp the bright blue tights! cute touch.

  7. I love the electric blue tights! You are so right that trying things on your own body vs. reviews can make a world of difference. I love reading reviews and seeing other people wear an item, but what may work on one body may not on another.

  8. Lauren- about the horizon line dress, I'm kind of on the fence with mine as well…hmme- me too, I like the oxfords with bright colors, thanks for stopping by!Sara- I sent you an email with contact info, hope it workselaine- thanks, I love this skirt, and its price!pamela- thank goodness for people's reviews right? But still worth trying it on for yourselfJo- thanks so much, a true compliment!B a la moda- glad you enjoy the outfit and nice to meet another Anthro fanatic!!

  9. i'm dying over the wright dress!!i didn't try it on because i wouldn't have been able to resist but i keep going to the website and puting it in my cart:0i love the bright tights with oxfords. so cute!

  10. Oh! And the Snow Flower skirt! Do they have it in a small??? How much??? Where??? (Can you tell I have been wanting that skirt for a while!!!)

  11. Dea – sorry the Free Flow Tank didn't work for you 😦 another petite reader of mine, Rosa, had the same issue – I think the material overwhelmed her. As for the Through-The-Clouds Tank – it's actually available in dark and light gray – I think the light gray is only in-store, so that must be what you saw…my store had both. Just fyi!Love your skirt today lady – super cute.Btw, how do you manage to stay away from Anthro when you work there!?

Leave a comment