Mixed prints & Shabby Apple giveaway winner

5

2

3

F21 tee/Anthro shifting buttons skirt, sparked agate collar/Clarks sky pocomo wedges

While drafting this post I had to do some investigative work on finding out the name of this skirt. It’s an oldie but a long-standing goodie, and as I looked over previous posts I realized that I’ve owned this buttoned midi for about 3 years. Now in my world? That’s a really long time for owning something because I feel like in the last few years my personal style preference has been all over the map. One time I’m all about lace, next thing you know lace is out and stripes are in (until I got the stripes & clover tee and it was all over). It’s this shifting process of staying tuned in to fashion, seasons, lifestyle, new style icons, budget, forgotten budget(!), and sometimes it’s really fun because I feel like I’m always evolving, and other times it can feel exhausting and end up confusing me even more on honing down my exact style. I’ve realized with time that it’s not fun trying to fit a circle into a square, and the thought of coming up with one descriptor for identifying how I dress myself everyday is (insert yawn) particularly boring in my book. I feel like with clothing I have a chance to reinvent myself everyday, express my mood and my levels of creativity. Sure, there are times when I’d love to be able to roll in to work with distressed jeans or try out my new jumpsuit, but that’s my current reality and I have to follow certain guidelines each morning as I stare at my closet.

Then again, clothes shouldn’t be such a head-scratcher, right? Does it really take 30 minutes to figure out how to dress oneself for the day (well been there and done that so no judgement here)? I guess what I’m getting at in this circuitous sort of way is that clothes are just that, clothes. And while some take them seriously and judge based on labels and price tags, what always worked for me is deciphering whether they still bring out the best physically and emotionally. Regardless of how long I’ve owned something or how I’ve worn it. Lately I’ve found myself going through my closet more critically, pulling out pieces that no longer fit my current version, and shopping more strategically for pieces that can multi-function if you will. By narrowing down the amount of items I own also helps to keep them in mind as I’m out shopping, cause it’s quite embarrasing to bring home an item only to realize that it goes with nothing in my closet, not to mention lifestyle. I’ve noticed that these small changes in my shopping habits have lead to wearing these new items multiple times, reaching for them often, and always feeling good in them. And the other great thing has been highlighting those “oldies” that have stood multiple closet purges as great examples on the importance of purchasing, timeless, quality goods.

And in other news, the winner of the Shabby Apple giveaway is Kristin, from Lovely Apidae!!!

2 thoughts on “Mixed prints & Shabby Apple giveaway winner

  1. Thanks again – I’m so excited I won the giveaway!!!

    I really wish I could follow your example and clean out my closet more thoroughly. I seem to want to hold onto pieces because at some point in my life, I really really loved them (even if they don’t fit into my style anymore).

  2. Hi Dea!
    I’m so happy that you are still writing. I really enjoy reading this post, especially because I’m currently in the process of moving across the country and trying to donate those items that I don’t wear as often. I also bought that skirt 3 years ago and I’m glad to say that this last time it made the cut. It is interesting how our styles change in a couple of years but I love when I can look at an item and honestly say that I still like it and wear it.

Leave a Reply

