Anthro dress reviews

After the Spring cleaning and closet purging all I’m looking forward to for the summer is easy, breezy dresses that are flattering, a no-brainer for styling, and most of all, comfortable. Although the warm weather is still aways (seriously? It’s May already) I am in high anticipation of bright summery days full of outdoor activities and awkwardly-placed tan lines.

With some new arrivals in our store I dove right in to the dress section and tried on a few beauties for size.

3

5

Aniko Lace Dress I wishlisted this dress soon after it appeared online because I was intrigued by the embroidery and the cheerful orange hue. The size 0 fit well to a little snug, so just to be sure I would size up because the chest area felt a little constricted. I appreciate the throwback appeal of the dress, reminding my of Anthro’s past feminine, dainty designs, but for my taste the dress felt a tad too folkloric and the orange hue, a tad too bright. Still a fan, just from afar 😉

4

11

Capsleeve Shift & Blurred Watercolors Infinity Scarf This blue dress was a last-minute gravitational pull as I headed for the dressing rooms. The simple design and bright blue colorway drew me in, considering it paired with limitless combos of scarves/necklaces/layering pieces. It felt like it could work great for a casual day out of running errands, or a little more dressed up for a conservative setting. It also seemed popular because I was only able to find a Small. Once on the dress still proved versatile, but something about the cut felt a bit ho-hum for my taste. The material is a sturdy cotton in a somewhat waffle imprint and the little buttons on the back were a nice touch, but I ultimately opted against it, unsure that it resonated with my style (thing about it is, it’s a day later and I’m still mulling over my decision for it feels like a great staple dress to have in my arsenal, yet something holds me back). I paired the dress with this cheerful little scarf that will be great for layering over simple tees on chilly summer nights.

7

8

No name dress – This dress was a brand-spanking new arrival, so much so it holds no name! It’s bright, cheerful, long, and has an added twist with two slits at the bottom that start a little above the knees. It’s a pull-on style so need to fuss with zippers or buttons, and comes fully lined. I tried on both an extra-small and small to note the differences and the dress runs true to size (the small provided unflattering gaping by the arm sleeves. It wasn’t quite my style but seems to be quite the popular number around my neck of the woods.

10

9

Macrame Day Dress I tend to act a little funny when it comes to black dresses, especially if they are maxi length. They feel a little too dramatic and goth (Morticia anyone?). But then I saw this dress impeccably styled here, and I was sold. Not sold as in I’m now wearing wedge sneakers with all my dresses sold, but like there was hope for a black maxi dress to escape the “depressed boho” comparisons. I had the chance to try both the small and extra-small and felt like I was swimming in the small, not to mention my undergarments were on full display if you checked things out from the side. The macrame detailing is wonderful and I love how much volume the dress provides. While rayon, the material feels like silk and the added bonus? Pockets!! I’m done here.

**Don’t forget to enter the Shabby Apple giveway here that ends tonight!

6 thoughts on “Anthro dress reviews

  1. Thanks for the reviews, Dea! I love both maxi dresses on you, especially the black one. How tall are you and did you find the regular length to work for you? Thanks!

  2. I bought the Aniko Lace Dress and wore it for my Cinco de Mayo party. I love the color and details on the dress. The best part would have to be the pockets. The tightness on top didn’t seem to bother me because I knew it was holding everyone on in place.

    I love the blue dress and colorful scarf on you.

  3. Thanks for the reviews! Anthro definitely embraces dress season 🙂 Love the royal blue shift: it’s so classic, not trendy. Although I also adore the orange dress, I agree that it seems too folksy to be practical. (5 years ago, I would’ve snapped it up in the blink of an eye. I guess that I’m gaining fashion “wisdom” over the years. lol)

Leave a Reply

