February favorites

mori  Mori Blazer

ivette Ivette Patchwork Dress

woven Woven Bow Belt

86772_WE3667_m Stucco Stripe Dress

47953_KS4939_m Fairweather Cardigan in Doubledot

73936_YL5292 Elephant Studs

87735_PR5997 The Duet Mini Wedge in Suede

_7689226 Regina Wedge

_7679970 ASTR Faux Leather Skater Skirt

images Austin Convertible Clutch

27241900_001_a Jersey Assymetrical Drape Skirt

27304054_001_a Georgia Lace Dress

If I had an unlimited bank account I realistically  could bring each one of these cuties home with me. But it’s not about that is it? It took me a while to understand that just because something is beautiful and looks great on, does not mean that I have to make a purchase and document the relationship as a permanent one. It’s actually a very simple concept but it has taken me eons of shopping trips and tight closet space to realize its significance. While magazines, catalogs, and blogs are great resources for inspiration and creativity they can also ignite this desire for newness, a facelift for the ol’ wardrobe, an opportunity for something more. When I realize that my serotonin levels are off the charts upon taking note of pretty items, I take a step back and create a mental picture of all the beautiful things I already own and figure out if there are any holes in my wardrobe that said item can fill. If not, back it goes. It may feel painful momentarily, but once I’ve left the store or site I don’t miss it at all and just saved myself some cash or time-sucking returns. It’s a rather tough exercise at times, but I’ve noticed that my recent purchases have become frequent offenders/contributors when I get dressed because they’re that versatile and flattering. I’ve noticed certain items left by the wayside just because even though they’re great, I don’t have a realistic use for them (which is also why you may have seen an increase of items posted here). The list of favorites above is a great way to keep focused on what makes my heart sing and what could be fun yet versatile pieces for the spring season ahead.

One thought on “February favorites

  1. Hear hear!
    I too am being very ruthless in what I bring home – so far I am coping with the (temporary) pangs of sadness not buying every pretty thing I see.
    Naturally it’s done my bank account wonders!

Leave a Reply

