The thing about dreams

16

14

11J Crew blythe silk blouse & cardigan/Anthro sparked agate collar/Target pleated skirt, tights, kaelyn ankle booties

Over the weekend I curled up on my couch and watched First Position, a documentary about young aspiring dancers who give it their all for a chance to fulfill their dreams and become recognized during an intimidating ballet competition. You guys, those little people were my heroes. I was in awe of their perseverance and work ethic, their passion for their dreams and belief system in the notion that hard work pays off. It was a beautiful story and I was rooting for everyone! Its multi-socioeconomic/ethnic /dimensional story streamlined everyone’s human needs of suceeding and finding joy in their daily lives. It came at a very opportune moment and left me not only to dust off my dreams of becoming a ballerina (someday, right?!) but urged on the importance of remembering the satisfaction that hard work affords to make dreams come true.

6 thoughts on “The thing about dreams

  1. First Position is such a moving and inspiring documentary, have you seen Hiro Dreams of Sushi? Another beautiful and well-made documentary about a man’s dream of succeeding as a sushi chef and his lifelong work inspiring many other chefs.

    Your skirt reminded me of the pleated polka-dots skirt in red at Anthropologie? Though it’s a bit pricey right now I could easily see you wearing it.

    • The necklace was a birthday gift from a dear friend so it’s a special item to me! I do believe it’s still around stores and definitely online. For the time being I’m still trucking along 🙂

Leave a Reply

