On the job

Yesterday I flew in to Chicago for a quick work meeting. Arriving a few hours early afforded me with the opportunity to explore Michigan Ave and get myself to a couple of stores because really, how much sightseeing could I really accomplish for a short period of time. Besides, I can sight-see while on the way to J Crew, no? 🙂

My main objective was to be comfortable while going through security and navigating myself around the new town, so I decided to wear a new dress that fit the bill. It was a hit all day long – to me and strangers who wanted to know where I bought it. When I’d mention Target their mouths dropped. Maxis can be quite the hit during the summer as they allow for breeze and fluidity while navigating the heat.

Hot pink seemed to be the shade of choice during my shopping excursion. Not that I was looking for it, but it was apparently on the lookout for me. The dress was discovered at H&M, and it’s an easy, breezy cotton dress I envision dressing up with a belt and cardi for work. The skirt is none other than the J Crew No. 2 pencil skirt in double-serge cotton for…..wait for it……. $20!! An unbelievable deal that could not be passed up. The striped tank above had great fun colors that’s a nice layering piece for beach days or farmer’s market mornings. I must also report that I also made it to Anthropologie and while tempted by its colorful necklaces for which I have Molly to blame thank, I walked away empty-handed. For now….

And for the one day of business I packed the Anthropologie Tuppelo dress whose subdued leaf pattern and rich shade of blue makes it appropriate for a business casual environment but also a no-fuss frock for when traveling back home tonight. As you can see, the Jackie cardigan performed double-duty on the trip.

There you have it folks, a Happy Friday to you live from Chicago!




8 thoughts on “On the job

  1. such a cute dress! And I love all the cute pink stuff you got, especially that skirt. And I can relate with you on the necklace thing since I just bought one that Molly wore on her blog. 🙂

  2. Hi. I actually didn't have to bother with it all. At times when climbing up stairs I needed to pull it up a tad so as to avoid tripping, but up top everything stayed intact 😉

  3. uh…ahem. Thank you, I guess? haha. Yes, reason and accountability go out the window when considering Anthro accessories, most specifically, the frosting for one's neck. At least for me. That dress….darn you, that dress. Now I have to go peruse Target. It's so effortlessly glam. So glad you got away, got a few new goodies, and hope one of those necklace lovelies ends up around your neck soon!

Leave a Reply

