Just one of those days

Today was one of those special summer weekend days. There were no pool or bbq parties, but it was this simple and slow day that made me appreciate the little things. We got up in the morning and headed to the farmer’s market for seasonal veggies, fresh flowers, and crispy bread. After whipping up some breakfast back home we watched a movie, then Dr. Love headed to bed in preparation for a night shift and I went off to run errands. I ended up at the mall, returning a few items at AE, where by the way, I’m always embarrassed when in the store because I just feel way too old standing in line next to parents buying graphic tees and micro shorts for their teenagers. On my way out I headed to the GAP and found a pair of cute shorts I’d been eyeing for some time. Later in the afternoon I started operation clean up at our place, then headed out for a long run at a nearby park. Navigating through the trails got me thinking about what summers used to mean when I was younger (endless pool days, part-time jobs, summer reading, car trips, volleyball camp) and what they mean now (less pool days, paid vacation time for scheduled trips, breezy maxi dresses and routine pedicures). 

I wore the outfit below on Friday, and while I initially invested in the espadrilles, I ended up switching them for flat sandals so I wouldn’t stand out so much at work – the bright colors were enough! Obviously I take “casual Friday” very seriously πŸ™‚

Hope everyone is having a wonderful weekend!
f21 top & bicycle necklace/ae jeggings & sam edelman espadrilles
6 thoughts on “Just one of those days

  1. Your day sounds wonderful! I love those "easy" days. Going to the farmers market is one of my most favorite things to do in the summer. Love the blue and yellow!

  2. Such a cute, colorful look, Dea! Your Saturday sounds so…nice. πŸ˜€ I was in an Arduino processing workshop for most of my day, followed by dinner with the fam. More Arduino for me today too. πŸ™‚ Which is fun, and I enjoy it, so that's a good thing. But your day sounds so restful in comparison…

  3. Dea-I love these happy cheerful colors. Especially with your phone cover as an accessory! That orange splash in there is so cute. I fully support your casual Friday literalness. Glad you had time for yourself…a long run alone can make me an entirely different woman. Rids the beast!

Leave a Reply

