Flying south

Yesterday afternoon I skidaddled out of work a bit early and headed to the airport for a quick trip back home.

jcrew natasha top & ruffled cardigan/ae jeggins/aldo flats/uo bag
I always tend to think that airports are a great place for people-watching. I start making up stories in my mind about the characters surrounding me. Perhaps the lady in a suit and 4-inch heels is headed to an important meeting, or a job interview and really wants to impress, but couldn’t the heels be swapped for flats while running through the gates? Then there’s the family of 5 with straw hats and bright-colored tees that scream VACATION, and I’m wondering how how both parents are holding up with 3 kids under 10. And I can’t forget the guy who’s tucked a tee in his belted jeans and completed his outfit with a black blazer, adorned his neck with a gold chain, while endlessly chatting on his Blackberry. I wonder what’s so important….
Then there’s me in brights, scurrying about with my pink suitcase, nose deep in LUCKY. I’d say my story is….self-explanatory!
7 thoughts on “Flying south

  1. I always always have to be in sensible shoes whilst going to the airport – you don't realize the amount of lugging and walking you have to do! I see gals strolling around in their high high heels at the airport all the time and I think they're a bit ridiculous/admire them for fierceness. Have a great trip!

  2. I try to wear slip on/slip off shoes so that I can get through security quickly. I also avoid excessive amounts of jewelry cause they require removal and they just feel heavy after a day of travel. I try to look somewhat dressed up in case someone wants to offer any flight upgrades but comfort is still key. This is kind of tmi but I usually wear shoes that are slightly too large because by the end of my trip, I find that I'm simultaneously dehydrated and swollen. Anyway, you look so cute, Dea! Have a great trip!!

  3. I always love to make up stories AND conversations about the people I watch/spy on! Sometimes I even do it from my office window watching people at the bus stop or furniture store across the street. But airports are more fun!Have a safe flight and trip!

  4. I totally agree with you on the people-watching and story-making at the airport. It's a great place to do it. You look totally adorable – I love the whole outfit. Need, er no, don't need to get colorful jeans. Don't, don't, don't. 😛

  5. I'd be one of the haggard parents wrangling their kids! I'd like to think I look somewhat in control of the brood when I travel…haven't tried with 4 yet! Hope your trip was full of loveliness and pure quality time. You look so fresh and funky in your blue/green ensemble. Love it!

  6. I'd be one of the haggard parents wrangling their kids! I'd like to think I look somewhat in control of the brood when I travel…haven't tried with 4 yet! Hope your trip was full of loveliness and pure quality time. You look so fresh and funky in your blue/green ensemble. Love it!

Leave a Reply

