Timing is everything

                photo(11)

                          photo(10)

                         photo(14)

           photo(15)

uo blouse/f21 skirt(recent find)/target tights/seychelles crossway heels

Once again, we headed back downtown for thai after a long shift at the hospital. This time we came barging in with a LivingSocial voucher so dinner tasted extra delicious. I really enjoy downtown Charlottesville because something is always taking place, and besides, it’s a great backdrop for picture taking! This skirt was recently found at F21 a couple of weeks ago and I couldn’t be more pleased with it. I had been on the lookout for a full skirt in a mustard color for a very long time, but nothing quite hit the spot. At under $20, it seemed to be an easy investment on a versatile piece. The extra bonus are the side pockets that come along with it.

So lately I’ve been doing a lot of thinking about shopping. The more I think about it the more I come to the conclusion that shopping, wise, thoughtful shopping, is actually hard work. Something I’ve always enjoyed about well-dressed women, young or mature, is that they own a limited amount of items, but those items are flawless and flattering. I certainly have no problem finding clothes I enjoy, but there is a difference between liking something and having something work for you. I don’t always make that distinction and the outcome is unworn items hanging in my closet, or making their way to ebay or here. Sometimes I jump at the chance of buying something, only to bring it home, reconsider, and return. It’s a waste of time, energy, and confuses my shopping instincts even more.

With a new month around the corner, I thought this would be a good time to take a temporary hiatus on shopping. Figure out the pieces that I already own rather than distract myself with new ones. This way, if there are particular items that I feel are a true void to my wardrobe, I can assess, make a list, and do my homework. Besides, November is the month of being thankful, and that can also be inclusive of attire, no?! Just as I’m processing this new idea, a sweet little email from none other than Anthropologie hits me up, furiously tapping on my newly constructed no-shopping walls. What does it say? Oh, nothing special, just FREE SHIPPING (on orders over $100) for the month of…….November. I see. Well played Anthro. As if things weren’t already going to be hard enough.

Leave a Reply

