Green Light

                      j crew dress/seychelles sandals

Today was one of those days when I wish I had a bike. If I had one I would ride it throughout town, store my farmer’s market veggies in the imaginary wicker basket, and would feel the wind through my natural curls. That’s right, this is my hair in its natural state. When the temperatures rise and humidity is at an all-time high (which is always the case in the South) it’s pretty pointless to apply heat to my hair, only to have natural heat unravel my efforts. And since we’re on the topic of effort, this dress is the specific simplicity I’m attracted to for dressing myself on a Saturday. It’s been in my closet for six years and it’s dear to me because I wore it for my first graduation ceremony.Here’s a lookie into the past:

13 thoughts on “Green Light

  1. You look gorgeous! Sometimes simple is best πŸ™‚ That green is really a great color for you. I love that J Crew keeps making that dress in a variety of awesome color/patterns. It's a classic.

  2. As a fellow curly top, I know what you mean about not fighting the heat and curls. It's no use. You look cute with your wavy hair and pretty green dress. I love those j.crew sundresses. They are fun and classic. I totally want a bike w/ a basket, too! I don't care if it's an old one, just something to take me to the farmer's market saturday mornings and back home again. Seems like a waste to drive when it's close enough to bike on nice morning. We are on the same wavelength!

  3. A bike is my the other pair of shoes. Gotta have it! A while ago, you mentioned looking for a bike.. Hmm.. Last year, we bought a 'downtube' folding bike. We took it with us to Monterey CA (Southwest flies it free). Put it in the car trunk for a 4-days weekends trip to Aspen CO. Love it. It has gears, shocks absorption, etc., so you can go off to unpaved roads too. You should get one. REI has it or google 'folding bike'.

  4. I love the easy simplicity of patterned summer dresses- equally appropriate for a sunny stroll to the market, dinner with friends, or a graduation!! This is such a beautiful timeless silhouette- gorgeous!

  5. Dea, you look so beautiful with your hair like that. It looks so full and lustrous – love the natural look. I wouldn't mind one of those bikes too except I dont know how to ride one!

  6. Dea, you look so beautiful with your hair like that. It looks so full and lustrous – love the natural look. I wouldn't mind one of those bikes too except I dont know how to ride one!

  7. You look gorgeous! Sometimes simple is best πŸ™‚ That green is really a great color for you. I love that J Crew keeps making that dress in a variety of awesome color/patterns. It's a classic.

Leave a Reply

