Valentino

        zara top/anthropologie plaited brushstrokes skirt/bakers bag/uo sandals

The other day I took a break from my daily schedule and sat down to watch Valentino: The Last Emperor. In case you missed it, Valentino Garavani, known simply as Valentino, is this amazing, couture, Italian fashion designer that creates beauty time and time again for decades on end. I had been a fan of his work for some time but this documentary gave me a glimpse of the artist in his personal life. He is a moody perfectionist who creates brilliant dresses and has a multitude of seamstresses that hand-sew every little last detail. It’s this small world of creativity, perfection, madness, drama, and exuberant taste. I thoroughly enjoyed it because it’s not only so far out of my reality but because it reminded me of Italian culture and my time there. Ah, a month has passed since my trip and I miss it dearly. I think it was the romance that the country’s history brought forth with every building, street corner, and cafe. Oh how I seriously contemplated staying there, relocating, starting a new life in this beautiful little country, but reality called and I couldn’t not answer. So for now I’ll keep dreaming of Italy and its quintessential charm.

This outfit was created in a moment, essentially throwing things together, but it is one of my favorites as of late because of its unique pieces. The top is the only clothing purchase I made in Florence, the necklace was gifted by my mom, the skirt was another pleasant score from the tag sale, and the purse a surprising find at Bakers of all places! It was in the stars…

13 thoughts on “Valentino

  1. That shirt is so fun! Pairs perfectly with the skirt. Italy is so magical. I only got to spend a few blurred days running through Rome, Florence, and Venice. I need a whole year, I think! Never heard of that movie, but I'm intrigued now!

  2. Dea I watched the Las Emperor as well this week. I am a Documentary Junkie. I can watch them all day long on Netflix. You should watch the September Issue if you have not. And one of my all time favorite Docs is My Architect.

  3. Ah! Dea! Such a pretty T shirt sprinkled with tiny stars. It should be named the Stardust Tee. Italy feels like home to you. But your obligations and love are in the States. You will probably always feel pulled between the two. There was a link to my outfit photos at the bottom of my post just in case the photo didn't post. I should have put it at the top. Here is a link.Outfit photos

  4. Ah! Dea! Such a pretty T shirt sprinkled with tiny stars. It should be named the Stardust Tee. Italy feels like home to you. But your obligations and love are in the States. You will probably always feel pulled between the two. There was a link to my outfit photos at the bottom of my post just in case the photo didn't post. I should have put it at the top. Here is a link.Outfit photos

Leave a Reply

