A Bright Break

A few short days after returning from Europe I fell into the complete chaos that is commonly known as moving. Meticulously packing away our personal possessions was irritating, exhausting, and draining. What really appealed at the time was to do away with everything just to simplify the task, but settled on sending several bags to donation instead. The big move went down this past Friday and while the 3.5 hour drive wasn’t too long, functioning on 2 hours of sleep did leave me deprived of any energy. Three days later and there’s still boxes and randomness surrounding me, but the good news is that we’re in Charlottesville and absolutely love it. We managed to find a place that’s close to everything so I’ve been basking in the ability to walk everywhere and load up on good food and ice cream.

Today I couldn’t stand it any longer and made my way to Anthropologie to take a break from unpacking. Just walking through the door brought a sigh of relief, and then a deep inhale of that amazing smell that those fancy candles produce. I wondered about and then stumbled upon these two really bright, punch-colored items and brought them to the fitting room:

The San Pedro Pencil Skirt and the Loosened Shelby Blouse. Maybe it had to do with the long summer days or maybe I was dreaming of a tropical paradise, but these colors spoke volumes and brought a smile to my face. I’d been eyeing the skirt from the beginning but often wondered about its brightness paired along with the pencil skirt style – it felt like it was too much. Once on however, it felt like a great piece for the office and could be paired with multiple colors. For now I left it behind since it doesn’t fit my current lifestyle, but it moved up on the wishlist. As for the top, I had to bring it home because I can see it paired with shorts, full skirts, skinny jeans and the obvious – tucked in pencil skirts.

Has anyone else tried on these pieces?

p.s. I’ve added some new items to Shop Dea Diaries, take a look!

12 thoughts on “A Bright Break

  1. What a fantastic, sunny pairing! Looks great on you. I looked at that one too, and found it a tad too bright for my law firm, but was able to find a similar one in a slightly darker color at J Crew if you are interested.

  2. Both of these outfits are amazing on you. Sorry about the moving – I HATE moving. Told my husband that next time we move we just sell everything from this house, pack only our clothes and go. The packing/unpacking is the absolute worst! Here's to hoping it goes fast and somewhat painless from here on out.

  3. hmmm i love that skirt and i do love your pairing. another great idea. loose and billowing without sacrificing shape and sensuality. i love it.

  4. Sometimes a girl just has to go shopping, no? I mean, there's just no better relaxation technique (unless of course, there's just too much on sale and not enough money to go around). That's stressful…I'm so jealous you got that blue Zara skirt…How I wish they would ship to the US!

  5. So glad you're home in the U.S., and made it to YOUR new home! Charlottesville is #1 on our list of places to live. I"ll have to email you soon when you've had time to explore more… would love to know your take. Planning a trip there next year to scout it out. So glad you snagged the Loosened Shelby. I got the polka dot green variety. I also love the bright San Pedro skirt, but also passed. Seriously glad you got yourself to an Anthropologie! It's a cure-all for me too.

  6. Sometimes a girl just has to go shopping, no? I mean, there's just no better relaxation technique (unless of course, there's just too much on sale and not enough money to go around). That's stressful…I'm so jealous you got that blue Zara skirt…How I wish they would ship to the US!

  7. Both of these outfits are amazing on you. Sorry about the moving – I HATE moving. Told my husband that next time we move we just sell everything from this house, pack only our clothes and go. The packing/unpacking is the absolute worst! Here's to hoping it goes fast and somewhat painless from here on out.

Leave a Reply

