What to wear

              I recently bought this skirt at Zara!!

When I had to pack for this trip abroad I had a hard time believing that I would be okay with working in rotation a small fraction of my closet. I thought I’d be bored quickly, crave new things, and be left with little creativity. The opposite came true because I ended up over-packing and there’s been a couple of things I’ve only worn once the whole time I’ve been here. Working with only a selected number of items showed me (reminded me most of all) that less is more. As long as I have items that fit me well and provoke feelings of fabulousity, I’ll always feel put-together. When I try to think about all that awaits me back home, my memory can only make out certain dresses and skirts, but the rest I can’t identify. Not a good sign and perhaps will lead into another blog sale!

One day this week I was feeling homesick, particularly about the silly but avid celebrity culture that I usually found on E! and Bravo. Randomly I ended up on People.com and came across pictures of Katie Holmes and Pippa Middleton. Their style really spoke out, and even though I’ve been a fan of Katie’s for years (you had me at Dawson’s K), Pippa presented something new but familiar. I could identify with the classic silhouettes, beige colors, low heels,and feminine blouses. They both wear classic but versatile pieces that can fit different lifestyles. I just couldn’t get enough and ended up sifting through their pictures for a couple of hours. It was the kind of styling refresher I was looking for.

4 thoughts on “What to wear

  1. I know what you mean. There is something really appealing about understated, feminine cool. I think my excess can sometimes lead to major indecision when I look into my closet. I wonder if carefully curating a few beloved pieces is the solution?

  2. I can't tell which celebrity is which Dea. The Blue Dress. Same silhouet as Anthro's Tippi Dress. I am happy to report I am on the correct fashion path for one dress.

  3. ahhh…Pippa Middleton, tabloid's new darling. I can certainly see why – she's got that understated elegance look down pat. And i love how she (and sis Kate) shop at Zara and the high street! Looking forward to seeing you in your new Zara skirt – looks great and i like the midi length

  4. I know what you mean. There is something really appealing about understated, feminine cool. I think my excess can sometimes lead to major indecision when I look into my closet. I wonder if carefully curating a few beloved pieces is the solution?

Leave a Reply

