Packing…….light?

A quick hello before I head out today for a super-long flight. It took some coercing but I forced myself to pack ahead of time so I could get an idea of how much I’d be bringing along. It’s been a bit chaotic because I’m also packing for the move to Charlottesville so there’s boxes and bins EVERYWHERE and it’s been a bit of a challenge figuring out what’s where.

Once upon a time you could find my clothes here:

Pretty organized, right? I arrange my clothes by grouping all the dresses together, the skirts, tops, then have the hanging shelves at the corner for my cardigans, tops, and j.crew tees (because they’re all I ever buy). Recently I found this scarf organizer at Bed Bath & Beyond that’s been a tremendous help for keeping my scarves visible:
However, during the last couple of days everything has been taken off their hangers. They’re either being folded and stored into bins or rolled up and tucked in luggage. I tried to snap a few pics of what I’ll be wearing for the next few weeks:
I kept patterns to a minimum because they can be hard to wear multiple times and sometimes patterns can be memorable, so I included a lot of solid colors in my repertoire to try out different color combinations. The jewelry was kept to a minimum for practical purposes, as well to not tempt anyone at baggage claim!! For shoes, I packed 3 pairs of flats and 3 pairs of sandals to have some variety depending on the weather, and so that if one pair of shoes decides to cause pain I can switch them in a jiffy. In reference to bags, I packed one larger tote and a smaller purse that I surprisingly found on Amazon.
My plan is to blog as much as I can so that I can share my thoughts during my journey, highlight the good and bad returning to my country of origin, and of course for the outfits!!

16 thoughts on “Packing…….light?

  1. Have a safe flight Dea! Looks as though you've got your outfits for the trip all sorted. And anyway if you missed something, well…you could always buy some more during your stay 🙂

  2. On KQED (NPR) radio RIGHT NOW, at the FORUM program:Francine Prose: 'My New American Life'"Author Francine Prose joins us in the studio to discuss her latest novel, "My New American Life," a playful skewering of American culture and politics told through the voice of Lula, an Albanian immigrant living in New Jersey."You can listen to the audio later on (after tonight maybe?http://www.kqed.org/a/forum/R201105041000

  3. Have fun on your trip!! I like your idea of packing more solids vs patterns because you're right, patterns DO tend to stand out more than solids! I can't wait to see your posts!

  4. hope your having a great time! i have that same maxi dress from urban years ago and that dotted dress from anthro is around my closet somewhere. love those dresses!

  5. On KQED (NPR) radio RIGHT NOW, at the FORUM program:Francine Prose: 'My New American Life'"Author Francine Prose joins us in the studio to discuss her latest novel, "My New American Life," a playful skewering of American culture and politics told through the voice of Lula, an Albanian immigrant living in New Jersey."You can listen to the audio later on (after tonight maybe?http://www.kqed.org/a/forum/R201105041000

Leave a Reply

