Road Trip Adventures

It never fails – when starting a long drive, I have every intention to get the show on the road as early as possible so that we can get there already and have free time to relax and enjoy the destination, but what happens instead? Things come up – Dr. Love has to pick up prescriptions and send in overdue paperwork to the residency program, I have to send in emails to teachers, and all of a sudden it’s noon and we’re still……..home!!! We finally get going for Kentucky hoping that perhaps we might get lucky and avoid the tornado warning, although the rain is steady and we’ve started feeling uncertain about our ability to arrive in one piece. 

On the way there we stop at Asheville because not only it’s almost the mid-way point but it’s a great town to visit.The weather was wet and windy so we weren’t able to capture much of the moment on film, but here’s what we managed while downtown:

                anthropologie tambour blouse

                    anthropologie necklace
                           F21 jeans
                            UO bag

                anthropologie cliffhanger flats

Our first stop was to Twisted Crepe, which offered an array of crepes from veggies and cheese to prosciutto and pineapple to blueberries with whipped cream. Perfect for breakfast, lunch and dessert. We ordered the Dirty Banana (or Dirty Diana in my mind)….intrigued?? I thought so 🙂 It was a creation of nutella, banana, and caramel deliciousness that was devoured in about 5 minutes.

After browsing a couple of bookstores and Urban Outfitters we mosied over to the Bier Garden for adult beverages. Their beer list was extensive, the french fries were delicious, and I extremely enjoyed my cider. People watching in the rain was not as exciting as I was hoping so I watched this guy instead.

      Always the caretaker, checking on the latest tornado developments…

Once our bellies were full I gently insisted that we try out this little place owned by J.Crew…

 For those not in the know, the retail distribution center is located adjacent to the clearance store, which is a magical place where J.Crew items are significantly marked down. I was so excited going in, expecting hundreds of items marked down, but I soon realized there wasn’t much space to work with. There were sections for women’s tops, blouses, dresses, cardigans and bottoms, kids apparel, some dresses from the wedding line, men’s apparel, and women’s shoes, but not many choices overall in my opinion and that was probably due to the limited space. 
The prices ranged from $10 scarves to $50 sandals. Oh, I saw a leather bag selling for $60 and that might have been the most expensive item in the store. Jackie Cardigans in an assortment of colors were $25 (yey!) and I spotted a few Forever Cardigans for the same price as well. I really had my eye on the shoes mainly because ballet flats were marked $30, but after the damage I caused at the warehouse sale a few months ago, decided it was best to walk away. I’m glad I was able to visit in person and thought the prices were fair, but think the warehouse sales provide much more merchandise at a lower price. The purchases for the night included a belt for the doc and another Jackie in the pale coral.

As the day wore on and the rain continued, we made the decision to stay put and continue the rest of the journey in the morning. That was fine with me because it gave me a chance to make some new friends: 

8 thoughts on “Road Trip Adventures

  1. You sure travel in style Dea!Oh man, I'm craving for one of those Dirty Banana crepes right now. You make them sound so delicious, sweet…and…very naughty! I visited a Jcrew outlet store in Woodbury Common last year. I didn't get anything sadly. Would love to visit their retail distribution centre one day…just for a looksie..

  2. I am actually from Asheville (well, I'm from a small town about 30 minutes from there, but I lived in Asheville for a few years for college). I'm so glad you got to visit! It is such a cool, beautiful place. I will have to try that crepe place next time I go back. If you need a recommendation for breakfast/brunch tomorrow, go to Tupelo Honey (you will not regret it)!

  3. Oh man… first blog of the mronign and I'm STARVING! That Dirty Banana Crepe looks so stinkin delicious! And now you're getting me all excited for vacation – except I've still got to wait until the end of July. Looks like Asheville has quite of bit of cool, low key things to do. I love places like that!

  4. Agree with Kristin…go to Tupelo Honey in the morning! It's right around the corner from Urban Outfitters. That might be my favorite restaurant EVER. The sweet potato pancake w/granola is to die for! Asheville is a great place to visit. I don't live too far from it and find myself down there quite often (plus, it's the closest town with a j.crew!) Their downtown area is so fun…definitely a great place to people-watch! Glad you got to go to the Clearance Center, too. It's totally hit-or-miss. Sometimes you can find rare pieces from YEARS ago just randomly sitting there, but sometimes there's nothing but shopworn sweaters and jeans.

  5. it's a good thing you stood put for the night! Wow, the weather looked like it was just awful near KY. I was in Asheville once, but it was to visit the Biltmore. The town just looked so lovely. It sounds like you had a great time while there! Safe travels!

  6. Agree with Kristin…go to Tupelo Honey in the morning! It's right around the corner from Urban Outfitters. That might be my favorite restaurant EVER. The sweet potato pancake w/granola is to die for! Asheville is a great place to visit. I don't live too far from it and find myself down there quite often (plus, it's the closest town with a j.crew!) Their downtown area is so fun…definitely a great place to people-watch! Glad you got to go to the Clearance Center, too. It's totally hit-or-miss. Sometimes you can find rare pieces from YEARS ago just randomly sitting there, but sometimes there's nothing but shopworn sweaters and jeans.

Leave a Reply

