I’m baaaack!!!!

Hello everyone, it’s been quite some time, no? The past week has been a whirlwind of activities and I’ve had no time to sit down and update this little space on everything that’s been going on. I have plenty to say but not much time to do it in, so I’ll break it down into separate posts because I want to document it all. I want to share about the fun trip to Chicago (and meeting up with Kim-lovely gal), my upcoming trip out of the country for a month (eek!) and the end of my time at school and in North Carolina (loads of packing involved). I’ve got to put my Chicago post on hold mainly because all the fun pictures are on my friend’s camera and until she uploads and shares, I’ll share with you everything else!!

Sometimes I have this habit of starting backwards and do that often when browsing through magazines. I’ll start from the back and work my way to the front. By the way, does anyone else engage in this ridiculous habit? So this is what I’ll do here, start with today and work my way to the previous days. I went to my local Anthro so that I could exchange a home item and try on some newbies. May I just say that ever since we found our new place in Charlottesville I’ve been devotedly perusing through home accessories and picking up small items along the way. It’s been an enjoyable process selecting special pieces for the future home.

While I can’t try on latte bowls and culinary pieces, I picked up a couple of items that were new to me.

It must have been the “soapberry-red” that drew my eye to the Ackee Pencil Skirt. The fit was good if not a bit tight, the way pencil skirts I assume, are supposed to fit? I tried on a size 0 which felt comfortable, but in these types of situations I always try a size up just to note the difference. The store didn’t have a 2, but regardless, I was impressed by its flattering fit and sturdy material. I actually had it in my hand to bring home, but since I don’t know what my next office environment will be like, I left it behind.

The Goldfish Bowl Skirt was a soft satin that felt like butter on, but in terms of aesthetics, it didn’t do much for me. Something about the fish everywhere, I really did feel like I was wearing a….well, fishbowl. Plus, I had a couple of goldfish when I was younger and these images creeped me out a bit. For sizing reference, I tried on a 0.

For me, the Latticed Weekend Skirt was something that had the potential to either really sparkle, or completely fail. When it received its second cut so soon this week, I started to believe the pessimistic side of me. I picked up a 2 and was wise to size up – it fit just right. And that was about all, because everything else was not working out – its complete sheerness is what made this skirt a questionable buy even at $10. I turned around and Hello Underwear. In theory a white-lace pencil skirt could have potential, but for me, this one didn’t flatter at all.

The fullness of the Plaited Brushstrokes Skirt filled me up with joy! Such a fun little number, with side pockets, cheerful colors, a soft cotton, and tons of body to twirl around with. I tried on a size 0 and the fit was great, I’d say perfect for the lower waist/upper hips. Love the fact that is has lining and just see it paired with an array of colors.

The En Plein Air Dress was another hit in my book. A burst of color that delivered structure and class. I was initially worried that its length would demonstrate unflattering, but it hit me right at the bottom part of the knee, so perfect! I tried on a size 0 and would say it fits true to size. The belt was a bright punch of orange and fit perfectly the Mad Men design. I wish I could take it home but it’s very expensive price tag has me crossing my fingers and toes for an upcoming sale.

This dress isn’t online yet so I can’t provide you with a name, but I can tell you that it’s a beautiful, silky little number that is comfortable, flattering, and a light little number for those hot summer days. I saw it over the weekend paired with a striped blazer by one of Anthropologie’s stylists in Chicago, and you can take a look here to see for yourself. I tried on a size 0 and its true to size as well. The colors are again cheerful and happy, and I appreciated its simple cut that can be worn alone or layered with a long cardi and boots. 

Out of curiosity I picked up the navy Spring-Ready Dress in an XS, but what I was really pinning after was the kelly green. At the store I thought it could be an easy throw-on for those lazy and hot summer days, but now looking at the pictures, I question its flattery on me. The pullover styling for me is both convenient yet dangerous for enhancing much of a shape. My store is doing a store search for the green version, but I’m not holding my breath as its a popular dress.

So, what do we think?

19 thoughts on “I’m baaaack!!!!

  1. Hey Dea! I loved seeing you pop up in Kim's Anthropologie Event pics! The Spring Ready dress is okay, with all the pretty patterned dresses you tried, I'd hold out. I love the "mystery" dress, it looks great on you. It looks a bit vintage to me. I totally want it! I have a gift card buring a hole in my pocket. I only hope the price isn't awful!

  2. I also read magazines from the back to the front! What does that say about us?! I also love the mystery dress on you! The color looks great with your skin tone. Can't wait to see the pics from Chicago! 🙂

  3. Pamela – the price tag said $138…. you decide how awful that is!! And I agree with you, I think I'll hold out for the colorful patterns, thanks for your advice!Loraine- maybe it says that we perceive things differently, more creatively perhaps? Or that we don't follow the rules!!! I know, can't wait for those pics either, though it was rainy most of the time.

  4. Welcome back! I'm excited to hear more about your trip! I am also creeped out by the goldfish. I had a few when I was younger and one of them lived for years (I don't remember exactly how long, but it was quite a while – 4 yrs maybe?). He got really big/fat/white in his old age and really looked gross. I remember being scared to feed him! Anyways, LOVE the mystery dress and also the Mad Men dress. They are both beautiful and look great on you.

  5. Welcome back Dea! I spotted you in Kim's photos – looked like you ladies had heaps of fun.I too read magazines from back to front. The back is usually where all the fashion is :-)The En Plein Air Dress is my favourite on you. If it ever makes it to sale, I will definitely consider getting it. It's so pretty.

  6. So many pretties! I think my favorite is the floral print dress not yet on the website. It is incredible on you!I wish I could have met you and Kim in Chicago. It looks like it was a blast! I can't wait to read your post about it. Where are you traveling to for a month? I want to live vicariously…

  7. That Ackee skirt is beautiful on you. And I will be waiting with bated breath for that green dress to appear online. It is gorgeous.Welcome back and thanks for the great reviews. Oh, that fishbowl skirt actually looks very cute on you. 🙂

  8. Hi Dea, I think that dress just went online and it's called the Verdant Slip Dress. So cute! I also tried on the Spring Ready Dress in green in XS at the Old Orchard store in Skokie, IL at the end of last week, so they might still have some there. I agree with you that I thought it was going to be very flattering but something about it fell short. It's a gorgeous color though!By the way, I think I saw you at the Chicago event but didn't have the guts to say hi since I'm such a lurker and hardly ever comment. Wish I'd said hi anyway! I hope you enjoyed the rest of your Chicago visit. 🙂

  9. I start at the back of the catalog/magazine too! Drives my daughter nuts. I thought I was the only one to do this. Whenever she sees me she goes 'aaaagggghhh, why do you do that?' I never even noticed I did it until she pointed it out.So why do we do this?

  10. I absolutely LOVE the new Moulinetter Seours slip dress. The colors are too perfect for words. I actually really like the goldfish skirt on you too, but I can see your point about being in a fishbowl. 🙂 I adore the Ackee Pencil Skirt on you too. So glad you had a lovely trip, and that you got to make it to Kim's Anthroholic event. How perfect! You looked lovely in the photos…

  11. oh lookee, all my favourites…I am definitely on board for the ackee, and it seems the plein air might go on sale (fingers and toes crossed). I bet if it had been offered just a little lower it would sell out right away- pricing strategy, anthro!

  12. I absolutely LOVE the new Moulinetter Seours slip dress. The colors are too perfect for words. I actually really like the goldfish skirt on you too, but I can see your point about being in a fishbowl. 🙂 I adore the Ackee Pencil Skirt on you too. So glad you had a lovely trip, and that you got to make it to Kim's Anthroholic event. How perfect! You looked lovely in the photos…

  13. I start at the back of the catalog/magazine too! Drives my daughter nuts. I thought I was the only one to do this. Whenever she sees me she goes 'aaaagggghhh, why do you do that?' I never even noticed I did it until she pointed it out.So why do we do this?

  14. So many pretties! I think my favorite is the floral print dress not yet on the website. It is incredible on you!I wish I could have met you and Kim in Chicago. It looks like it was a blast! I can't wait to read your post about it. Where are you traveling to for a month? I want to live vicariously…

Leave a Reply

