Our Lily Pad

Dr. Love and I spend a lot of time on the futon. There are a myriad of activities that take place here in this place we call “our lily pad”. We read books, engage in heated discussions over politics and where we see ourselves in 10 years, devour takeout, complete homework, nurse our laptops on our (well, laps), and sometimes even catch quick naps. The apartment is pretty spacious and it’s not like we live in a small studio, but somehow soon after getting home, we gravitate towards the lily pad and immerse in our little world.

                 jcrew ethereal ruffle cardigan
                       jcrew ruffle tank
                        ae black cords
                 anthropologie loose rein boots


A few weeks back I declared my adoration for the Tuileries Dress and ordered it online to try it in the privacy of my own home. As excited as I was to have it in my hands, once on things took a turn. Take a look:

While I love how pretty the dress looks in these pictures, on it felt loose and not very flattering. I kept re-tying the sash, looking to create some form of shape for myself, but no success. There was also a bit of a gap on the arm sleeves, and in the summer I like to be comfortable and not feel self-conscious about any undergarments peeking through. It was a sad moment taking it back to the store, but it also reaffirmed my love for the Sun Shades dress.

10 thoughts on “Our Lily Pad

  1. aw…well, as you say, it means your sweet yellow stripes love is unchallenged!heh…I hear you on the lily pad living- with a whole apartment around us, we still end up with the 2 of us on the couch, with a laptop and 2 very large cats!

  2. Sorry the Tuileres dress didn't work out on you.My hubby and i spend a lot of time on the couch too. We even have dinner on it while watching TV. It's more comfy than the dining table!

  3. The looks on your face as you tried on the Tuileries Dress are identical to the looks I had when I tried it on. I wanted so much to like that dress, but it didn't work for me either.

  4. Awww, I'm sorry the dress didn't work out! But really, a nice dress should make you feel comfortable, so it's not really a loss since you have another gorgeous yellow dress in the wings!Lilypad living, haha! I definitely love hovering around the kitchen and couch! It's funny because I have a dining room table, but rarely ever use it because I so prefer to eat on the couch!

  5. So sad the Tuileries didn't make the cut for you! Maybe they'll roll out a blouse design in the same fabric? One can hope. The Sun Shades dress is fast becoming my one-that-got-away- Regatta Dress, however I still REALLY want that one too. Yes, our couch is like a central nervous system for us too. We always end up there. It's so nice to have a place you want to curl up in. You look so easily fem-chic today!

  6. So sad the Tuileries didn't make the cut for you! Maybe they'll roll out a blouse design in the same fabric? One can hope. The Sun Shades dress is fast becoming my one-that-got-away- Regatta Dress, however I still REALLY want that one too. Yes, our couch is like a central nervous system for us too. We always end up there. It's so nice to have a place you want to curl up in. You look so easily fem-chic today!

Leave a Reply

