Partly cloudy with a ray of sunshine

It’s interesting how quickly your desire is re-awakened when stumbling upon something you wanted a long time ago. I’d think that time would fade away the craving, but apparently for some things this rule does not apply. Such is my story regarding the Floreat Partly Cloudy Top. 

When it appeared online in Fall ’09 I was very intrigued but never able to find it in stores and back then I didn’t have the sleuthing skills I do now, nor did I have CS on speed dial! A week ago I found a bid for the top in my size at a manageable price and I knew that I still wanted it. Can I just say that Ebay brings about a bit of anxiety, especially when you find something you absolutely want but are scared of getting caught up in the bidding war and end up paying WAY more than you initially intended or felt comfortable with. This wasn’t the case with this experience, but I’ve watched some bids jump from $61 to $305 in just a couple of hours (hello Fulmar sweater skirt). 

I thought the Beaded Eglantine would work perfectly with the new top due to their intricate details and color detail. They’re almost of similar length so that kept things symmetrical. 

                  anthropologie partly cloudy top

               anthropologie beaded eglantine cardigan
                       anthropologie necklace
                            f21 jeans

                  anthropologie loose rein boots

14 thoughts on “Partly cloudy with a ray of sunshine

  1. Yay for getting your blouse! I love and hate ebay at the same time. I've paid a premium just so I don't have to keep searching anymore. Now when I see something for a great deal, I just jump at it, especially if it's a BIN. This is how I got a NWT Flight of Swans Dress for $65!

  2. Jenn- that's a great idea, I like the concept of setting a limit. The only thing is when I did that once, the other bidder won the item by $1! It's haunted me ever since…Tien – what an unbelieveable deal on the dress, I am in awe of that price for that dress! Premium? I don't know anything about that so need to check it out. How does it work?

  3. I love that new cardigan of yours and congrats on your blouse! You look so lovely today. I've also had my bidding stories on ebay. But best thing I bought was probably the bunch of roses shoes which I stalked and stalked! It was so worth it.

  4. Oh, I mean pay a higher price for an item. Like when the Tawny Garden Dress popped up in my size NWT for close to retail. I bought it without hesitating, and have never regretted it.

  5. That's so funny – I just lost out on this blouse by $1 last week. If it was to you, well you look fabulous! I may have to try pairing my ice-capped blouse with this cardigan now. 🙂

  6. I don't think i've ever made a bid on ebay. I usually hit the "buy it now" – i don't like the anxiety and it doesn't give me the thrills that some people get! Glad you managed to score that top – it's really pretty and looks wonderful with the jeans and boots.

  7. I love the blouse but get nervous with the keyhole opening and being over exposed 🙂 But it doesn't stop me from wearing it! I love it with that cardigan! A perfect match!

  8. I have this pretty top just hanging in my closet, you've reminded me to show it some love! It looks so pretty paired with that cardi – I'm glad you found one, it's lovely on you!

  9. Ooof, eBay definitely makes me anxious, and exactly for the reasons you stated! I'm also always like, "What if the winning bid is just 50 cents more than my maximum bid?!" and then I worry and it's a mess, haha… I love this gorgeous blouse on you — and you're right about the cardigan being a perfect pairing!

  10. I get anxious over Ebay bidding wars, as well. I talked myself out of bidding on a Scalloped Dots skirt, because I was sure that the bidding would go so high that my bid wouldn't even be worthwhile. But you know what happened? No one bid on it, and the seller hasn't relisted the skirt!! I'm still lamenting over it. But, in happier news, I love to see all the use you're getting out of the Loose Reins boots. They work so perfectly with the soft grays you're wearing on top.

  11. Oh, I mean pay a higher price for an item. Like when the Tawny Garden Dress popped up in my size NWT for close to retail. I bought it without hesitating, and have never regretted it.

  12. Yay for getting your blouse! I love and hate ebay at the same time. I've paid a premium just so I don't have to keep searching anymore. Now when I see something for a great deal, I just jump at it, especially if it's a BIN. This is how I got a NWT Flight of Swans Dress for $65!

Leave a Reply

