OOTD: Monochromatic

During the last couple of days I’ve been busy researching through rental websites and craigslist in hopes of finding a cozy little home for our anticipated move in a few months. It’s been an exciting process exploring different possibilities, examining floor plans, location, daydreaming of attempts to decorate successfully, and I think the part I’m most looking forward to is investing in a bike! Once I find the bike then I can add a little woven basket on the front, you know, for those farmer’s market trips! Also have to say that I am so appreciative of everyone’s support and well-wishes about our new adventure. It has been really special and helpful to have come into contact with a few readers from the Charlottesville area as they have provided great suggestions and helped refine our focus.

I love this dress despite its “Beetlejuice” effect. Many months have passed since the last time I wore it, partly because its a standout piece in my mind and I have a hard time toning it down. At one point I thought to sell it because it wasn’t receiving enough love, but when I discovered this cardigan I thought it would work well and bring the dress to the forefront. As for the cardigan, its reminiscent of Anthro’s pieces from previous years. The detailed blooms give the cardigan a vintage feel and it feels very cozy. 

     anthropologie exbury gardens cardigan
    anthropologie monochromatic corset dress
 ae ribbed tights
  target pumps




11 thoughts on “OOTD: Monochromatic

  1. You look so pretty, Dea! I'm glad you decided to keep that dress. I know you must be getting excited about your move. We should get together one more time before you leave town. I hope you have a great weekend!

  2. You look gorgeous Dea, this combination is awesome! Covering up the bodice with a sweater totally transforms the dress, I love it. And good luck figuring out all your moving plans and arrangements!

  3. A brilliant take on classic black and white Dea! Wearing the dress as a skirt is a good way to tone down the look. A bike sounds like a great idea, and an environmentally friendly way to get around 🙂

  4. Aww, Dea, you look wonderful! I love your use of black and white to create a lovely texture.Best of luck to you and Dr. Love on finding a place. Apartment hunting is a long process, and it take time to find the perfect home!

  5. Good luck on your search! Looking for a place is both exciting and stressful, but mostly fun, I think! And YOU LOOK SO CUTE! I love the dress with the cardigan! Well done!

  6. i love this! stripes paired with pretty much anything is fabulous. we must've had the same mindset–i wore b&w this weekend too. it's just great to do sometimes, you know? anyway. you look fantastic. i love the dress & cardigan over top.-brittneyhttp://adayinlifetoo.blogspot.com (my daily outfit blog)

  7. i love this! stripes paired with pretty much anything is fabulous. we must've had the same mindset–i wore b&w this weekend too. it's just great to do sometimes, you know? anyway. you look fantastic. i love the dress & cardigan over top.-brittneyhttp://adayinlifetoo.blogspot.com (my daily outfit blog)

Leave a Reply

