Pride & Ruffles

“Can you die of happiness?”

The DVD came in a few days ago but just this afternoon I was finally able to take some time and immerse myself in one of my favorite films, Pride & Prejudice. I read the book sometime during high school and Jane Austen became one of those authors that inspired storytelling, social commentary, and ignited my tendency towards romantic fiction. At that young age I was so curious and surprised by the way in which young men and women interacted with one another, the layers upon layers that exist in humankind, and this dependence on social standing to determine identity. Topics that although manifested long ago, still carry relevance today. Above all, I enjoyed the dialogue and sparks that flew between Elizabeth and Mr. Darcy, along with the judgments, wittiness, and affection that grows between the two. Having the movie to refer to provided more to my imagination and oh how I enjoy the decor, empire waist gowns, and the beautiful stately homes. It’s characters such as Elizabeth that gently remind me of what it means to be a strong and courageous woman.

And one more thing….the scene where Mr. Darcy is walking through the field in the dusk, coming towards Elizabeth…….I swear goosebumps covered my entire body, so unapologetically romantic!

Credit must be given where it is due: when I saw Kim here I was smitten by her genius outfit, and even more so with the babydoll tunic she had found at F21. I immediately made moves to make this beautiful and delicate top mine, and in the process stumbled upon this cardigan that seemed to pair perfectly. Its neutral brown color is beautiful and I adore its possibilities with jeans, skirts, and maybe even shorts for a daring day in the late spring…. Thank you Kim for always managing to locate some real gems!

       f21 lace babydoll tunic
       f21 ruffle trim cardigan 
       f21 jeans
anthropologie necklace
       anthropologie whispered trail Frye boots

 

21 thoughts on “Pride & Ruffles

  1. Oooh, I love that top! It looks so different between your and Kim's outfit; it's obviously beautiful on both of you, and it's amazing how dramatically changing the color scheme changes the look.You two have got me eying this tunic now. Must resist!

  2. JG- not to enable (but I am!) definitely keep a lookout for the top, it was only $16!Pamela- I know right? The power of layers…shannon- thanks! It was a surprising find and the buttons are the best part…well, aside from the ruffles on the sleeves!thatdamngreendress- it's actually the Kiera K. version in 2005. At first Darcy didn't catch my eye, but towards the end he turned into this handsome lad (intentional I assume)!

  3. You look so romantic in a modern way, if that makes any sense. You must see the BBC version – all the BBC versions of the Austen novels. The best. Then you'll have to see "Bride and Prejudice" – Bollywood version. So awesome.

  4. I also read Pride and Prejudice in high school and just fell in love with it. To this day, it's my favorite book and Chris even bought me a limited edition that's like 100 years old or something. Haha. I loved the BBC version of that movie starring Colin Firth. If you haven't seen it, I'd say check it out. It's the best depiction of the book and Colin Firth is just soooo great as Mr. Darcy!

  5. Hi Dea, I love your outfit! Especially the tunic… It seems like sold out online. I need to go check it at my local store. Never find anything I saw online at my local store though…sigh*

  6. I'm a JA fan as well. If you're a fan of the genre, you also need to read if you haven't or at least watch The Age of Innocence by Edith Wharton. I love this book and the store and there were so many "layers" to this story and I think Martin Scorcese did a great job directing. Having Joanne Woodward narrate was so great as well.Always nicely dressed as always!

  7. I love Jane Austen books and Pride and Prejudice is my favorite out of all her books. P&P version with Colin Firth stays very true to book. Totally recommend it if you haven't seen it.

  8. Hi Rachel. I wasn't able to locate links for both items, but here are the product IDs:lace babydoll tunic 2000005863ruffle trim cardigan 2065131207 Hope this helps in some way so that you can track them down!

  9. I also read Pride and Prejudice in high school and just fell in love with it. To this day, it's my favorite book and Chris even bought me a limited edition that's like 100 years old or something. Haha. I loved the BBC version of that movie starring Colin Firth. If you haven't seen it, I'd say check it out. It's the best depiction of the book and Colin Firth is just soooo great as Mr. Darcy!

  10. JG- not to enable (but I am!) definitely keep a lookout for the top, it was only $16!Pamela- I know right? The power of layers…shannon- thanks! It was a surprising find and the buttons are the best part…well, aside from the ruffles on the sleeves!thatdamngreendress- it's actually the Kiera K. version in 2005. At first Darcy didn't catch my eye, but towards the end he turned into this handsome lad (intentional I assume)!

Leave a Reply

