Taking the fall

I don’t think I realized how different and dangerous ice could be in comparison to snow……until the other day. 

Business as usual, rushing around the apartment in the morning getting ready for work. Brushing my teeth, straightening the hair, gathering my gloves and hat, buttoning the coat, keys in hand, on the way to the bus stop with one minute to spare. I knew there was still some ice left over from the earlier days, so down the steps I went, cautiously looking down to avoid any apparent “hot zones” and well, one thing led to another and the unavoidable took over. I took one step forward and the leg kept going, while the other flew up in the air and wouldn’t you know, I landed straight on my behind with some sort of mini-whiplash in effect. Big OUCH! Dissecting my history of previous falls, I came to the realization that when you take a stumble and there’s an audience, it’s much easier to get teary-eyed and seek empathy, but when you’re all alone and there’s no one to lend a helping hand, you dust yourself off and wabble your way towards the original destination. That my friends, is what took place on that fine and icy morning. I had a bus to catch and work to get to so I got up, took note of the pain on mi bum and hand, and basically pretended that nothing had ever happened! Oh, and I checked to make sure that no one at the bus stop saw me take the fall, in case you were wondering.

For more uplifting news, love this dress and was so happy to finally wear it for the first time (not wearing it the day of the “incident”) šŸ™‚

                                   anthropologie babergh dress
                      anthropologie roaming frills cardigan
                      anthropologie dormant gleam beret
                      anthropologie over the moon booties
                                        f21 tights
                                   j crew lady day coat

13 thoughts on “Taking the fall

  1. Oh No! I fell once coming right out my front door and after I made sure no one saw me, I checked my tights for casualties, saw nothing and soldiered on. That's all you can do! So glad you didn't break or sprain anything! You look simply divine in this outfit. It's so angelic and serene.

  2. Ouch!! Deepest sympathies from someone who makes a habit of falling and bumping into things routinely. Slipping on ice is really dangerous- physically and to your ego, so I'm glad you're ok on both counts :PThis dress looks beautiful on you, and I'm so thrilled to see you pairing it with the fiery orange coat- I paired it with the exact same color heels 3 days ago, and fell in love with the combination šŸ™‚

  3. Aww you poor thing. We have stairs out in front of our house, and last year, on the way out to work, fiance and I both fell down them all and crashed into our front gate. What's worse is, that several people saw :(I hope you're recovering from your nasty spill. You look gorgeous – I love all cool tones in your outfit.

  4. I am so sorry about your spill. I took one about 15 years ago and I still have a scar on my left shin from it. The bummer was it was due to 4" heels – my own vanity… šŸ™‚ But that doesn't keep me from wearing them. I hope you are feeling better soon! You look lovely in the color combo – I love the cool tones. Cheers!Girls Day Out gdo-family.blogspot.com

  5. I am relieved that you weren't hurt, and that no one saw you – I know (from LOTS of experience)how embarrassing that can be! You are so prety in your dress and that cozy hat – such a doll!

  6. Ouch! I took a similar fall a few years and I now have some sort of ice-phobia:( I looove this dress! You look fab in all of these soft neutrals and that pop of color with the coat.

  7. I fell last year on some not seen black ice behind my car. Thank goodness I have a rear end and coat that buffered my fall. Yes, I looked to see if anyone saw me.I like the way you coordinated the Baberg dress and the coat. I was able to find one on sale with the 25% off after returning it weeks earlier deciding although I loved it I had not where to wear it. Well, I wore it once already and think I'm going to wear it again tonight for a friends dinner celebration.

  8. Ouch! So sorry to hear about your fall:( I took a spill walking into a coffee shop a while back (no ice to blame, unfortunately). I know exactly what you mean. Even though 1 person saw me, he didn't make a big deal about it. So, I just go up, acted like nothing had happened and ordered my coffee!Your outfit is very pretty. I love all of the soft, cool tones together. http://lovelyapidae.blogspot.com/

  9. So sorry to hear about your fall! When I lived in PA, I almost slipped walking our dog while I was hugely pregnant! Not good. But hey, I bet you looked awesomely dressed for your fall. šŸ™‚ Glad you are okay!!!Love the dress on you!

  10. Your so lucky you didn't break your tailbone. I broke mine slipping and falling on tile 6 years ago. I still have trouble sitting on a hard chair. Did your shoes not have slip proof soles?I love your Anthro styled Babergh with the Orange coat. Sadly, I ordered the Over the Moons too big, then they were gone. But I do have the dress and tights. And I too have worn the outfit only one time.

  11. awww, poor you Dea. Thank goodness you were Ok enough to pick yourself up from the fall. Be carfeul out there on the slippery surface.You look really pretty in the Babergh dress. It looks even more amazing with those booties and bright coat

  12. Hope you are feeling OK! I slipped on snow that covered a patch of ice once and sprained my ankle so I am more than cautious while walking in the snow. In fact, when I walk anywhere after a snowfall, I'm pretty sure I resemble the speed of a snail or turtle!

Leave a Reply

