A White December

This past week was one of the worst I’ve had to deal with. Apart from all of the end-of-semester responsibilities that include final exams, papers and presentations, I had the pleasure (insert sarcasm) of dealing with a pretty serious personal attack. It’s one of those moments where when it goes down, you’re in shock of what’s taken place, but once adjusted you get angry, frustrated, defensive, and want to roll up your sleeves and fight back. Being bullied is no joke no matter what age you are, and I can never understand why people take the time to be mean and conniving. Emails were sent, meetings were scheduled, schedules were re-arranged, and yet I feel like justice was not served, and that’s the worst feeling – seeing something unethical take place and not being able to set things straight. Sorry for the lack of specific details but I think that whatever the issue it produces similar reactions. 

As a way to shake off the disturbing events that had taken place, I started today with a run, long shower, and a solo date with The Devil Wears Prada. I enjoy the movie so much and was the perfect remedy for escaping reality. Later in the afternoon it started to snow ever so gently, and the white all around put me at peace, reminding me of the little pleasures of life.

 free people sweater
f21 necklace (black friday find)
f21 black skinnies
target wellies



15 thoughts on “A White December

  1. That's disturbing and disheartening news, Dea, and I'm sorry you had such an unpleasant week. I hope things are on their way to getting better now. I'd give you a hug if I could. Hooray for alone time- sometimes it's the best way to get your head around a messy situation.

  2. That's awful and I'm so sorry to hear about your situation. Hopefully you can put it behind you because there's no use in dwelling on it. In good news, your outfit looks casual, comfortable and chic.

  3. I love your outfit. Beautiful sweater. I'm sorry about your problem – I know how it feels.The Devil Wears Prada really is a fun movie. It reminded me a lot of Ugly Betty – I was wondering if it inspired the show's creators.

  4. I'm so sorry to hear about this situation, Dea. I'm thinking about you and hoping it gets better very quickly. Good for you for taking some time for yourself today to do things you enjoy! The snow was quite unexpected and refreshing πŸ™‚

  5. sorry about your bad week. Bullying in the workplace is NOT on and something that needs to be addressed promptly. I am glad you are sorting it out. The snow in the background looks quite amazing, and you look really pretty in your wintry outfit.

  6. I'm really sorry to hear about what happened to you. I still can't believe there are people out there who want to bring others down. It makes no sense to hurt others! I'm sure you will get past this because you are a good person and didn't deserve this. Your outfit looks so warm and comfy for the little snow that fell. Wishing you a good week!

  7. oh! I hate to hear that you had to deal with a personal attack/bullying! I think I'm in the same position as you (second year MPH student) & can't imagine dealing with something like that on top of it all. Like Gemma said, it is hard to believe that some people seem to thrive on hurting others, but hopefully you are able to see it for what it is & move on. Love the outfit & good luck with everything!

  8. I had to go through a very similar situation this week .. i totally agree that how people take out time to be mean .. the good part was though my near and dear ones stood my side .. I a lucky to have such beautiful people who love me too … helps me forgive or just ignore such cynical behavior .. anyway I have a very similar cardigan by anthro .. the quizzical cardigan ….Was thinking it was too .. hmm for lack of better words … white to wear in winter .. looks like its not πŸ™‚ .. thanks for the inspiration πŸ™‚

  9. Thanks everyone, your words of empathy mean a great deal. It just helps to know that such behavior really is disturbing and such a waste of space.

  10. I'm sorry about the rough week, I hate when people are ugly 😦 Hopefully, this week will be MUCH better for you as you move past what happened. You are looking so pretty and peaceful in your cardi with the snow.

  11. I'm sorry you've had to deal with unpleasantness this week:( You're absolutley right…being bullied no matter how old you are is a terrible feeling. I hope that everything is resolved. I'm glad you had time to yourself to get centered and clear head.ps-you look so cute! I love the wellies:)

  12. I agree, one of the worst part of situations like you've described is when there is little follow through or lack of accountability. UGH! And the worst part is when someone says, "well…that's just how ___ is". I'm sorry to hear about what you went through. Behavior like that is so not acceptable!On a better note, you look so peaceful in that light snow. The sweater is so pretty and you've totally inspired me to seek out a white cardi like that. I love your entire look.

  13. I can't imagine someone being cruel enough to take the time and effort to bully someone as clearly sweet and purehearted as you are Dea, what an absolute shame. I do hope you are able to get past it, they aren't worth wasting your time worrying about. Hope you had some great and enjoyable "you time" this weekend πŸ™‚ Take care.

  14. Hi Diea, I'm so sorry to hear about your situation 😦 I hope it'll get better. I've definitely been able to relate to the Devil Wears Prada. Wishing you a good week ahead!

  15. Oh Dea, I can't imagine any one in the world more sweet, kind, and nice than you. It totally comes through across your blog. Shame on that person who took the time to direct negative energy toward you. I do hope you had some time to recover, and that the best way to get revenge is to not even give this small person the time of day. You are above that and so much better than that.:Hugs:

Leave a Reply

