Big accomplishment, a J Crew outlet score, and new corduroys

By the looks of the title you would have thought there’s plenty going on over here, and you know, you’d be right!! A historic time that was this weekend – a new outlet mall opened 30 miles from home and I ran my first half-marathon. Pay no mind to the listing order as clearly the running is a bigger accomplishment, but both are exciting for different reasons!!

The half-marathon, oh my what fun it was. There were about 4,000 people signed up and 2,000 for the full marathon. The race began at 7:00am. Gloves were in absolute order. As we began the 13.1 mile journey, layers of clothing were flying off and landing on sidewalks. It was a sight to be seen but the whole time I just felt so happy to be a part of it, and thankful that I had the strength inside of me to push through and complete this goal that I’d been wanting to accomplish for quite some time. Erin was a great running partner and all our training paid off. Now I’m thinking I need to go all the way and explore the 20+ mile territory. Oh how it frightens me, but in a good way!

As for the outlet adventure, apparently you’re not supposed to explore during the grand opening, unless of course you’re into long lines, congested traffic, and think scavenger hunts at Banana Republic are worthwhile. It was mania, and the local news covered the pandemonium that was unfolding. I’m the only bright star that didn’t do my research and went in thinking “I’ll just check out J Crew and be out”. If it was only that easy, a real commitment was required, but J Crew did not disappoint and I can definitely get used to all those 20/30/40% off signs!! This top is one of the gems I scored and I love the sequins paired with the sailor stripes. I might just declare this “cozy glamour”. 

j crew sequined striped sweatshirt
anthropologie pilcro cohort cords
forever21 necklace
anthropologie toe tapping flats
And have you heard that these cords just went on sale?? Hello, please sign me up for one more pair in the dark orange, or perhaps lilac!! This minty green is too sweet for words so I’m super-tempted to add to the collection.
16 thoughts on “Big accomplishment, a J Crew outlet score, and new corduroys

  1. Such a cute top! Would love to find a medium weight striped top. Congrats on the race Dea! You and Erin are amazing! I say go for the 26.2 if you're thinking about it πŸ™‚

  2. I saw your pic with Erin on Erin's blog and was waiting for your post as well. Congrats to both of you on such an accomplishment. Just thinking about running that much makes me want to huff and puff. So proud of you gals!

  3. Congrats on the race! I love these pics of you! How do you get them to look so vintage? I really want a pair of those cords. I tried to order some this morning at the sale, but I was sent a cancellation notice. 😦

  4. Hooray for a new top and cords! I love this look because I am such a sucker for sailor stripes, haha!And CONGRATS on completing that half marathon! That is a huge deal and I am so proud of you!

  5. Yayyyy we did it!!!!! I so enjoyed it and am glad you did, too!! Fabulous job to you! I love that you are ready for more running already! I think the next local half-marathon is in April… πŸ˜‰

  6. Ha I am headed to Boone this weekend and was so excited for outlet shopping and then was talking to my sister who reminded airhead me that a new one just opened even closer!! Its on the way between my house and my parents so I feel like I might be in trouble! Love your sale score!

  7. You'd have no trouble with the longer races; it's just a matter of finding the time for training. You're much faster than me, but I've run a marathon, and I have my third half this Sunday.

Leave a Reply

