One After Another

It’s a little embarrasing to admit “out loud”, but for our trip back home yesterday I made plans to stop by a Florida Anthro just to scope out a new store and ummm, I sort of had some returns that had been piling on and honestly, felt too shy to take back to my local B&M. It’s an 8-hour drive during Labor Day and yours truly has a panging need to stop at a store- unfortunately typical! Dr. Love was really good about it and stuck by my side for the whole endeavor, although I think it was really a ploy to get me out of there sooner than later because when he’s right next to me as I’m touching everything I become more self-conscious and aware of his time – gosh, imagine that! Can I just say that it’s so nice being able to go to a new store because there’s so many other possibilites at the sales rack as well as with the new arrivals. I got to see the Easy Keeper Skirt and it is just lovely. Definitely a standout piece for the wintertime so I hope that my store has it available for me to try on next time I make a visit.

The exciting about the trip yesterday was that I got a heck of a deal on the original gray Acting Out Skirt – $20!! I had intentions of returning it, but once I was told it had received a 2nd cut, back home it went! Along with it I found this lovely cardi that I decided to wear right away. It’s impeccably soft and really a great, feminine layering piece.

anthropologie one after another cardigan
ae denim dress
anthropologie woven buds belt 
everybody sweet-wrap sandals
20 thoughts on “One After Another

  1. That dress is just lovely on you! I'm exceedingly jealous of your Acting Out Skirt luck. And I totally get the returning things to a different store: there are only two here but I've never once returned something to the same store I bought it!

  2. You look so pretty! I adore the sweater and the denim dress together. I know what you mean about feeling especially aware of the partner's time when he accompanies you on a trip to anthro. The same is true with me and mine… he comes in and though he starts off open minded, I see him slowly turning into a pumpkin if I grab more than 4 things for the dressing room.

  3. Sometimes thats one of reasons I like to shop alone. Nothing is worse than someone essentially tagging along as your peruse the racks. I'm a toucher, too! I must touch every piece of clothing I pass!! But understandable. I get that some people just don't have our "passion"! I also like seeing sales racks at other stores!!

  4. British Anthropologiest- I think it's hilarious that you wont return an item from the store it was originally purchased in, so funny! Thanks for sharing that :)Anon- it happened somewhat randomly actually. I told the SA that was planning on returning it but then found out it had been marked down so re-bought it at the new, lower price!Lisa- glad to hear you feel the same as I do about exploring new locations. So true that you can find new deals or even items that you might have never seen IRL!Jesspgh- right there with you lady. I'm thankful enough that he was flexible enough to stop, so I couldn't quite go all out in the store, although I really wanted to 🙂

  5. haha.. I soooooo totally relate to what you posted!!!! did you really just return the skirt and buy it again?? at the register all at once??I want that cardi!!!! was just admiring my white Beda dress (thanks to YOU!!!) and wondering how many wears I can get out of it before it is too summery for fall………. love! I keep an anthro list in my car and check them off as I visit… there are 30 in calif and I have been in only 10 of them…11 if you count Dos Lagos but have only pressed nose against window as they were closed both times we stopped. yes I get returning where they don't know you….hahahab

  6. You are looking so casual and lovely today. And what a great deal on the skirt. That was very nice of Dr. Love to stop by a new Anthro for you and even stay with you, although it may have been to get you out quicker, but I doubt that. 🙂 My husband rarely goes to the mall, let alone an Anthro with me. But when he does, why does he seem to always come inside when I'm checking out and the SA is just about to tell me the grand total? Then it seems like the SA is yelling the amount I just purchased? Is it my imagination?

  7. As an employee, I will tell you it is most definitely frowned upon to return and then buy things back to save a buck. Don't you think that is taking advantage of the return policy we all love and see as great customer care? If not, don't you at least see it as a little gauche?

  8. I am so with you on the returns while on vacation Dea. I always feel so uncomfortable when I take a pile in and try to explain that the nearest store is an hour drive and with free shipping I AM BUYING EVERYTHING!!!!! I love your entire outfit, that cardi is just beautiful!

  9. Dr. Love sounds a lot like my guy. He's exceedingly patient and very tolerant of my crazy Anthro habit and even makes returns for me when I'm feeling self conscious about it. Your outfit today is so effortless and chic. Love it!

  10. Anon (employee) – thanks for your feedback and perspective. The only experience I've had with this was through the SA herself. I was returning a dress I had bought and when she rung it up she explained to me that it had been marked down exponentially. She was the one who offered for me to re-buy the dress at the lower price since I had never heard of this option before. The same thing happened this time as well- I was returning the skirt then was told it had been marked down. I asked if I could buy it at the lower price and the SA said it was no problem. I'm not one to take advantage of anything if you know me as a person, and for me this was an example of the customer care services that Anthro provides as it was a store employee that introduced this option to me.triciathomas- I totally relate that free shipping brought along more purchases than usual and with that meant more returns! Thanks for your comment.anon- being shunned out of ANY store is frowned upon but I'm especially surprised that it happened at Anthro. If you misunderstood a policy then all that needs to happen is having someone explain it to you, but to be rude to a customer is definitely bad business. I'm sorry you went through that.kim- thanks so much and yes, I love this cardi, so effortless!cat- yes, understanding men is where it's at. I'm definitely impressed that your bf will even return things for you, b/c I think that's where Dr. Love would draw the line!

  11. I've only had that happen to me once when the manager asked me if I wanted to buy it back at the lower price. Most of the SAs won't do it since they are afraid of breaking Anthro's policy. I'm with British Anthropologiest, I usually return my items to a different store from where I buy it. But lately with FS, I've have even more returns. So I return to the store that I buy a lot from.

  12. I love that cardi too – love, LOVE it – I need to double check my ivory cardi inventory(which I believe is dangerously low) and hunt one down…You look adorable, Dea – glad you were able to get to the new store to check it out!

  13. Dr. Love sounds a lot like my guy. He's exceedingly patient and very tolerant of my crazy Anthro habit and even makes returns for me when I'm feeling self conscious about it. Your outfit today is so effortless and chic. Love it!

  14. haha.. I soooooo totally relate to what you posted!!!! did you really just return the skirt and buy it again?? at the register all at once??I want that cardi!!!! was just admiring my white Beda dress (thanks to YOU!!!) and wondering how many wears I can get out of it before it is too summery for fall………. love! I keep an anthro list in my car and check them off as I visit… there are 30 in calif and I have been in only 10 of them…11 if you count Dos Lagos but have only pressed nose against window as they were closed both times we stopped. yes I get returning where they don't know you….hahahab

Leave a Reply

