Wrapping things up

It’s been two whole days since returning from the home visit in Florida and must admit that I really miss being around the folks! I feel so silly admitting it but there is a special bond that I have with each parent and sometimes I get melancholy that I’m not around them as often, especially as they get older. So funny to think about how when I was younger the first thing I wanted to do was go out into the world and grasp that independence, far away from the two people that were always there for me. Now that I’ve been on my own for almost 10 years, I realize how much I actually yearn for the comfort and ease of being home and having my parents take care of me. Even if every now and then I respond with a “I know what I’m doing, remember, I’ve been making decisions on my own for a long time”.

anthropologie coil flower tank
j crew cotton cavalry skirt
anthropologie double torsade necklace
anthropologie rave review sandals
15 thoughts on “Wrapping things up

  1. Love your tank. I was able to get a PA on 2, one for me and one for my mom! I know exactly how you feel with the parents. We went back to Florida twice in two weeks to attend both my husbands and my HS reunion. I didn't get to see my folks much because we were busy, but I love just sitting and relaxing at home or going shopping with my mom. She likes doing things for us and making food when we're there. And to just take a break from my wild boys! I feel good that I can buy her things at Anthro because she doesn't like to spend money. As much as I remember wanting independence when I was young, now, I really enjoy just spending time at home with the parents!

  2. I love these photos! I think the relationship between a parent and a child changes once the child no longer is a dependent. You're no longer required to take the submissive role, but can learn about your parents as an adult, and know them on a more personal level. They become human and you develop a whole new attachment to them. I totally understand not wanting to be apart from them. Funny how time can change perspective.

  3. I'm sl glad you got to go home and visit your parents! and I have to second everything that Tien said about the parent/child relationship. I couldn't ahve worded it better. Love the ootd, and how carefree you look in the photos.

  4. Aww this was such a lovely post. I feel the same way about my parents. It saddens me sometimes to think that they're getting older and their time with me will become limited…but I try to make the best out of it. I call my parents daily now and live less than 10 miles away. I'm glad you were able to go back and visit them. They seem like great parents to have raised such a great daughter!

  5. I think you're absolutely right that the bond with our parents is so special, and something that transitions and changes as we grow older. I did of lot of eye-rolling when I was younger and my parents tried to give me advice, but now I really appreciate the stories and tips they have to share.

  6. Love this outfit, so summery, breezy and so pretty. Isn't it amazing how much more we appreciate our parents as we get older? Especially when we have kids and see what our parents went through. My bond with my parents has definitely strengthened since I've had kids.

  7. I am totally with you on loving to be home and taken care of. My parents live like 15 mins. away from me and when I go over I still revert back to being taken care of by my mom. I love it!!

  8. I sadly do not have a close relationship with my parents, so I think that you are very lucky. Your mother made a magical home for you. Several times I have looked at the pictures of your family home – it makes me feel peaceful. I can almost see the love that your mother put in the decorating. Very special indeed.You look happy and cool in that outfit!ebe

  9. You look so lovely! :)It took me a long time to start to "miss" my parents as well (though I've never lived very far away from them). I think Tien is spot on in her explanation! Though my mom totally still bosses me around sometimes ๐Ÿ˜‰

  10. I love these photos! I think the relationship between a parent and a child changes once the child no longer is a dependent. You're no longer required to take the submissive role, but can learn about your parents as an adult, and know them on a more personal level. They become human and you develop a whole new attachment to them. I totally understand not wanting to be apart from them. Funny how time can change perspective.

Leave a Reply

