Ode to Mom and her Anthro House

One of the many reasons why I enjoy coming home so much is because of the house. From the outside, it looks like the Flinstone House.

Mom has a knack for designing and the whole house feels like a museum of some sort. It’s a blend of Shabby Chic, Southern Living, Anthropologie, Cottage Living and old country. It’s been a work in progress for her and she’s filled it up with pieces from international travels, flea markets, old pieces from our apartment back in Albania, Target, junk yards, and hand-made pieces constructed from her imagination. When I was younger I wasn’t exposed to this side of her, probably because she spent the better part of her energy focusing to raise me the best that she could and keep me focused on schoolwork and my future. By the time we got this house, I was heading off to university. Little by little she began to unfold her creative ideas and imagination, working on the place a little at a time. I’m amazed at how she’s transformed the house by hand-painting the doors and cabinets white, changing the tiles and making curtains out of my old dresses. I truly admire her talents and am too much in awe to wonder why I wasn’t equipped with the same gift. Unsurprisingly, I love coming home just for the decor alone, because it makes me feel like I’m in this little fairy-tale cottage where everything is beautiful and magical. Perhaps that’s what going home should feel like.

20 thoughts on “Ode to Mom and her Anthro House

  1. Wow, Dea, that is so cool! Your mom seems like a very interesting person! I have never seen a house like that before! Is it here in NC? You look gorgeous as always! Your legs look so long in the picture of you sitting down! Thanks for sharing!

  2. Wow, your mom is soooo talented!! What creativity! What a special eye to be able to put things together like that. Whenever I pass by a home that appears "different" that the traditional house, I always wonder what the inside is like. thanks for letting us take a peek! Decorating, travel, collecting is clearly a passion for her. Bravo to her!

  3. Oh my goodness — you are completely correct that this house looks like it came straight out of a fairy tale. And the inside is just as beautiful as the outside. This is the kind of house that you could explore forever, because there would always be something new and different to notice. What a wonderful retreat to return home to. Your mother is truly talented. And I think you DID inherit her creativity — you can see it in the fun and inventive ways that you style your outfits.

  4. I agree with Jamie. You have great style and character just like your Mom. Creativity is a gift that comes in many forms.The house is so unique. I can imagine driving past and wondering what details are hidden inside. Love the Anchors Aweigh Dress on your long lithe figure. I so thought of trying the dress, but I am just to large up top. Sigh!So I didn't even try. Laura

  5. I really like to see unconventional homes. Your comparison to a fairy tale house is so fitting. I would love to come home to a place like this. Your mom is one creative lady who is not afraid to take risks.

  6. I adore your mom's quirky taste and adorable house!! I really appreciate people who are true to themselves and embrace what they love!! I love how she has decorated her home and how you feel like you know her by seeing inside her home!! I also adore your yellow dress!

  7. What a totally unique exterior – I've never seen anything like that! I love seeing the pictures of the inside of her home too, I think it's awesome that she is able to pull together all the styles and pieces she loves!

  8. I agree with Jamie. You have great style and character just like your Mom. Creativity is a gift that comes in many forms.The house is so unique. I can imagine driving past and wondering what details are hidden inside. Love the Anchors Aweigh Dress on your long lithe figure. I so thought of trying the dress, but I am just to large up top. Sigh!So I didn't even try. Laura

Leave a Reply

