Running Late & A Bit About Me

You know it’s bad when I’m here watching Lifetime, because I specifically stay away from this channel (the whole ‘something bad happens to every woman in every movie’). I’ve been meaning to construct this post for the last couple of days and now that I’m caught up in this odd movie, I figure its best to be more productive, like blog!

This is what I wore the other day and it’s too bad I had forgotten all about this dress. I got it at the end of last summer on super-sale at the Gap and love its style of fitted top and full skirt. But then again, isn’t that what I usually gravitate towards??

gap dress
j crew studded belt
anthropologie sweet-and-sour necklace
anthropologie toe-tapping flats
The other cool thing besides this Lifetime movie (insert sarcasm here BIG time) is that I’ve been tagged by Erin at Designer Me with some fun questions to answer. Here we go!
1. If your life was a movie, what movie would it be?
Hmm, maybe it would be something along the lines of the Namesake. It is a book by Jhumpa Lahiri that was later developed to a screenplay, and really, it’s one of my favorite books, but I really love all her books. I identify with a lot of what it means to exist among two worlds and the duality of family life with the rest of life, all while establishing my own identity. Highly recommend the book more than the movie, but movie’s faster!
2. Are you a morning or night person?
Definitely morning and my friends can attest to this. Even during college days when we’d be out until the wee hours, I was always the first one up at 8! I use it to my benefit and spend the time working out. Hi, I’m the crazy person who’s first in line when the gym opens at 5am.
3. What’s the first thing you would do if you won the lottery?
I would actually do three things simultaneously (because I make the rules around here): pay off my student loans, buy a summer house by the beach, and set up a solid retirement fund for both parents so they’ll never worry.
4. If you could see any concert ever, what would it be?
After watching This Is It, definitely MJ.
5. Are you a sweet or salty food person?
Oh my goodness, I couldn’t hide my love for sweets if I tried! I actually fear I’ll develop diabetes b/c I have no self-control when it comes to gummi bears, cupcakes, chocolate bars, tiramisu, cake, ice cream, hot chocolate…….
6. What is your favorite clothing purchase you’ve ever made?
Hmm, I had to think about this one. I’m going to go with my senior prom dress. It was love at first sight- fitted and long, with little beads on the straps, and an open back. The color was a spring water teal, like a mermaid! I felt beautiful all night.
7. What is your favorite quote? Can be inspirational, funny, from a book, etc!
Ideals are like stars; we never reach them but like the mariners of sea, we chart our course by them. -Carl Schurz
8. What’s your dream job?
If I was in fantasy land, I would immediately go for editor-in-chief of a fashion magazine, just because it would be so fast-paced, superficial, basically nothing like my real life, plus access to all the sample clothing and fashion shows would put me over the top! Back in the real world, my dream job is to work for an international organization where I would implement sustainable programs that aim to address women’s health care needs, specifically focusing on HIV prevention (global health coming through). Either way, I’d be working on improving women’s lives, just in very different ways!!

Hope you guys have enjoyed reading up on everyone’s answers. It’s always nice getting to know bloggie friends! Thanks for tagging me Erin!

18 thoughts on “Running Late & A Bit About Me

  1. You need to wear that dress more often! Its too pretty to be hiding in your closet and it seems so versatile. I challenge you to come with with three more ways you can wear it.Blogger is still being mean to me. Grrr!

  2. It's nice to learn more about you – I am a morning person too, and sometimes people get mad at me. I also think it is appropriate that you like sweets – girls who like beautiful flowy dresses should just naturally like cake, chocolate, etc.ebe

  3. Love, LOVE that dress! It's gorgeous. I'm also really big on sweets! And I agree about MJ – I'll bet that concert would have been amazing. However, I'm not at all a morning person! Or a night person, for that matter. The best time to catch me is usually in the afternoon. Avoid me the rest of the day. 🙂

  4. That dress is so adorable, what a great find in the Gap. It is rare that I actually go into that store.I am completely like you on the sweets. I fear the diabetes because I have a ridiculous love for sweets of all kinds.

  5. I recognize the sweet and sour necklace. You always look so fresh and put together. Love the part about Womens Health Issues.Thank goodness no one has tagged me, since I'm the new kid on the Blog Block.Laura

  6. You need to wear that dress more often! Its too pretty to be hiding in your closet and it seems so versatile. I challenge you to come with with three more ways you can wear it.Blogger is still being mean to me. Grrr!

Leave a Reply

