This Winding Road

The frequency of Anthro purchases has been a bit much recently, and large in quantity as well. I ordered both colors in the rah-rah rumba skirt for example, because I like them both so much and couldn’t decide which one to stick with. Recently I’ve been spending more time thinking about my choices in buying and am having difficulty applying the theory of buying only what I truly love. Geez, I love a lot you guys and it’s easy for me to create reasons as to why I want what I want! So I decided to explore this further, and went to the mother blog of all fashion blogs (in my humble opinion): the sartorialist. I stumbled upon it 8 months after Scott Schuman began photographing people on the streets of New York and he has impeccable taste in the people he documents. Today I started looking at his earlier posts and the outfits captured are always so timeless. Whether they were photographed in 2005 or 2009 you really can’t tell the difference because it’s about taste, rather than what’s ‘in style’. It’s about current vs. classic, modern vs. momentarily, and that was my answer. For me it has to be about finding pieces that transcend through time and can be incorporated at different stages in my life but still represent the real me. Although this is simply about material things, I find that clothes can really alter my mood, the way I view my surroundings, and a reflection of how I want to present myself. I love taking the time in putting things together (usually) and creating outfits that work for me and my comfort level.

So when the latest package arrived in the mail, this little yellow cutie was all folded up, waiting to unwind! I’m happy that I waited to buy it on sale; makes it that much more desireable. Simple was for the best today because I believe we broke 100 flippin degrees! Is it fall yet?

anthropologie winding roads tank
ae pinstriped shorts
uo sandals
19 thoughts on “This Winding Road

  1. LOVE!!! That tank is so cute on you and I can totally see you using it for years!!! It's a keeper for sure. I grabbed it in yellow and navy last week and was also so glad I waited for it to go on sale. =) Hope you're keeping cool in that awful heat!

  2. You are so right about investing in timeless pieces and not so on the random fun pieces everyone in the pages of Lucky Magazine are wearing. It's hard though when you so many people wearing cute things. Although, I see you wearing a lot timeless silhouettes with a modern pattern. The yellow of that top is so flattering against your skin tone. Great piece!

  3. I think your decision to stick with timeless, classic pieces is a great way to select your wardrobe. It will definitely help you to avoid picking up pieces that you'll only wear for one season!

  4. 102 today here in NC. Frightening. I talked to an SA at the Palm Desert Anthro, who told me it was 115 there and they find it "cool" when it dips down to 100. So we should be thankful, DEA!Cute, cute outfit for this nasty NC humidity.Heidi

  5. 102 today here in NC. Frightening. I talked to an SA at the Palm Desert Anthro, who told me it was 115 there and they find it "cool" when it dips down to 100. So we should be thankful, DEA!Cute, cute outfit for this nasty NC humidity.Heidi

  6. 102 today here in NC. Frightening. I talked to an SA at the Palm Desert Anthro, who told me it was 115 there and they find it "cool" when it dips down to 100. So we should be thankful, DEA!Cute, cute outfit for this nasty NC humidity.Heidi

  7. I love that yellow on you. It's tough when there's so many cute things out there and you look good in everything. Ahh…wonder what sale will be coming our way tomorrow!

  8. It's been very hot, hasn't it? Your outfit looks so comfy. You're making me regret my choice in Winding Roads Tank. I had the yellow in my cart, but ended up ordering the orange. Then when visiting my parents this past weekend, I picked up the navy on a whim.

Leave a Reply

