Race on Saturday, Indigo on Monday

One of the great things about hobbies is that you’re willing to go the distance for partaking. I’m not one to claim many hobbies, well except this venue right here, but one thing that I’ve always enjoyed (for the most part) is running. This past Saturday I (we actually) drove about 3 hours to a beach town so that I could participate in a race. 5 miles to be exact, which was second-best to the 10-mile run I was really aiming for. Due to the ridiculous humidity and heat I just couldn’t bear running for longer than 50 minutes, which is why I did not feel prepared for the long distance.
I completed the 5-mile in good timing and was proud of myself, but let me tell you, it wasn’t all flowers and cupcakes when I got there. I don’t know how many of you have participated in such an event, but races are always interesting to me because there is a conglomeration of real athletes, whose bodies exude muscle and definition, mixed in with the rest of us who just want to be able to stretch down and touch our tippy-toes. As we’re all standing there doing our fancy stretches, I find myself comparing with other girls my age, begin to doubt my abilities, debating why did I even sign up for this thing, and how I’ll probably stop midway while all these other, fit people, will just fly past me. Well readers, I learned a very important lesson: don’t judge a book by its cover and DO NOT compare yourself, with anyone. I ran without stopping once, and once I crossed that finish line, I saw some of those fancy runners come in behind me. There’s nothing like inner strength. Do what you do for you, regardless of what it makes you look like on the outside. Whether we run 10 minutes or 10 miles, do it for the right reasons, and the long-term effects. I’ve been running for 15 years and still needed to be reminded.

Then Monday came, and I wanted to wear an outfit reminiscent of my middle school days: solid color shirt with a flowy, printed skirt. I love indigo blue because it pierces and stands out in this natural way.

ae tee
h&m bird print skirt
anthropologie necklace
blowfish cattrell wedge
16 thoughts on “Race on Saturday, Indigo on Monday

  1. That is exactly what I love most about running- it's an equal opportunity sport! You just never know who the speedy one really are until you take off!Great job on your finish, I can't believe you drove 3 hours!! wow, that's dedication!

  2. Lovely outfit, Dea! The blue is gorgeous on you. I'm a walker, not a runner. Although, I do love sprinting and being left breathless. That feeling is exhilarating. And you're right, it doesn't matter if you finished the race last or first, you should be damn proud that you even finished it. I know I wouldn't be able to!

  3. yes, and you never know! I got into racing for quite a while after my boyfriend asked, "What's the worst that can happen? You collapse. That's not so bad." So, I pushed it and got fast. Once, a long-legged younger girl, under pressure from her judgemental, athletic boyfriend said, "you don't look like you could run that fast." Indeed. Push it, dea!!!

  4. Way to go on that race, Dea! I'm not a runner myself, but I've got a ton of respect for those that do run (like my sister who just recently completed her first 1/2 marathon). I can sprint and I'm quite fast, but cannot bear anything long distance. That's probably why I played softball for 13 years and didn't run track.

  5. I'm so proud of you, Dea! I hope this fuels the love to run more and you end up entering in more races like this. I love that you dug up the courage to do this. WOO! I'm not sure how old you are but you looked GOOD in middle school. My middle school outfits were…hmm..colored jeans, bandanas and a lot of flannel. Yep…GHETTO's the word you're thinking. Haha. 🙂

  6. I'm glad you had an a-ha moment at your race Dea! I also admire runners and think you should be so proud of yourself!I love the blue with the bird skirt, that is the favorite pairing I've seen and I'm excited to try it myself. You look great!

  7. great job with the race! I am currently training for a half marathon and just ran 6 miles last evening!xo Lynzyhttp://fromskirtstoskillets.blogspot.com

  8. dea — funny the same thoughts go through my mind too. my only goal now is to pass moms pushing strollers. i just figure i have no excuse in that instance. i love road racing too and have travelled the world to get to cool races. runners are such an awesome group of people no matter where you go. thx for sharing!

Leave a Reply

