Partial to Sales

How about that sale today at Anthro!!! I have to shamefully confess that the first thing I checked on this morning was the Anthro website, where in actuality and for logistics purposes, I should have probably made a beeline to my bank account and see how much money I really had to ‘play with’. There were definitely some goodies marked down and I took my chance with ordering the In a Twinkling dress and the Weave-the-Ring skirt. I’ve realized for some time that I need to be more selective with what I purchase and not just go for something only because it looks good on someone else, or because it’s on sale, or because I have nothing like it (maybe there’s a reason for that). I love looking through all the different blogs because they provide so much inspiration on how to recreate what I already own, but they can also create lust for items that were never on my radar to begin with. You take the good with the bad, right?
So my whole outfit cost $40, and the skirt accounts for one-fourth of that. This is why at times it is worthwhile for me to be patient and wait until something goes on sale. Money and I have a funny, sometimes erratic, relationship, especially regarding Anthro purchases. There are moments when I think it’s worthwhile to buy something full-price, but then eventually it goes on sale (except that darn Aniseed skirt!) so that money could really be spent on more than one item. See my dilemna?? How do you ladies handle/decide this?

pink studio sandals
33 thoughts on “Partial to Sales

  1. I rarely buy anything at full price because I like so many things that even if I miss out on something, there is always something else that I like that either is on sale or will eventually go on sale. I have purchased some things at full price, but it's usually dresses- they are so unique at Anthro that it really is hard to find something that compares elsewhere. That skirt is cute- so perfect for summer.

  2. You look lovely:)Lately, I've really been thinking about what I purchase and how/why I shop. I resisted the urge to buy anything today because I'm waiting on the catmint dress to go on sale. I'm also still debating on the Dagmar shirtdress. I've been thinking of shifting my focus on purchasing more classic(and slightly quirky)things versus trendy. Could it be that I'm growing up….the horror:O

  3. i totally hear ya! i have to keep reminding myself i should buy something that i love and actually feel good in. i find it helpful that you brings lots into fitting so there are comparisons then ask myself question like "if i had to pick one top out of half a dozen, which one should i pick?" 🙂

  4. I rarely buy items at FP because I've been lucky to be able to get them on sale. Now when I buy, I look for items that fill a void in my warerobe. All my items have to be able to last more than one seasons. If I don't see myself wearing it the next season, I don't buy it.

  5. This is so tough! I'm a really terrible sale shopper when it comes to Anthro. Every where else, I can wait and wait, and it doesn't bother me if it sells out. When I love it, I get it. Sometimes it bothers me that an item I love and bought full price makes it to sales because I could have purchased more with the money I had spent. When it comes to dresses and shoes, I'll splurge more, but if it's pants or tees, I can wait. I guess that is how I decide.

  6. I totally agree with you that blogs sometimes tempt me to want things that aren't right for me but one thing that really helps me narrow down my list is trying things on. If there is an item that I love that I shouldn't because its not 100% right for me I set a price for it, meaning I will only buy this Item if I can have it at X price.

  7. I'm with you on the blogger induced lust. There are things I would NEVER consider until I see them on someone else. Sometimes, I intentionally avoid postings if I think that's going to be the case. Ha! As for as full price vs. sale price, I try to be conscientious about buying things on sale. But, if I think an item is special enough, if I need to have it right then, or that it won't be around in my size come sale, I splurge. That's a lot of "or's". Ha. It's a little harder to gauge for me since I mostly shop online. I can't see what's selling in stores. I've been better though about using CS to locate stuff for me.

  8. Dea…I got that skirt at the sidewalk sale this weekend for $4.96!! Can you believe it? I can't wait to wear it cause it looks awesome on you.

  9. When I do buy, I mostly am buying sale items or older items that CS has to locate. I have gone as far as calling 30 stores to find a sale item because i waited way too long. haha! I usually have great luck finding whatever i want that way though. sometimes i'll buy full price if i think a particular item that i love has a huge chance of becoming sold out fast or if it's absolutely necessary for me to have. also, recently i picked my top 10 items from my wishlist and it helped me to see that i'd been adding items to the list that i wasn't even crazy about.

  10. This is a very hard one for me too. I don't buy any pants at Anthro and tops I buy mostly on sale since hardly any of the items I like sell out. For tops, if I do buy full price, I try to stick with a $50 budget. And I NEVER buy cardigans full price at Anthro. Things I do splurge on are skirts and dresses and it's only because I haven't really started buying those pieces until recently. So I thought after 30 years of missing out on pretty dresses and skirts, I can afford myself that luxury at the moment. At some point I need to back off though and I'm getting there. :)Also, financially I take all expenses and savings off the top of my paycheck and have a set amount of money left over for "kicking it"…meaning whatever I wish to spend on. If I budget well enough I can buy something I've been wanting and not feel guilty or hurt my finances.

  11. I almost always wait for a sale because I know Anthro and practically everything goes on sale (sometimes you just have to wait a loooooong time!). Plus, then I know I really want something if I wait it out and mull over it. But it does take a LOT of patience!!! It's not very easy but always worthwhile in the end.

  12. It takes something super special to buy it at FP for me-like I need it for an event, otherwise, I play the waiting game. J.Crew marks down WAY too quickly. Anthro seems to take longer on markdowns, but I can usually hold out. I stalk items at Macy's and usually always use a coupon there. Blogs are really great for inspiration but you are so right when you say you may see an item you never looked at twice before on someone else and then it looks GOOD. REAL good! Speaking of, I LOVE that skirt on you…:)

  13. While I never buy anything full price at anthro, I have bought many sale items, which can add up money wise, and closet space wise. My new motto is don't buy anything on sale that I wouldn't have considered full price. I don't buy things I wouldn't have really wanted otherwise just because they are great deals. Also, I ask myself "is this worthy of going in my closet?" – ! Many times the answer is no.Also, if I like something at Anthro that I have to let slip through my fingers, I don't fret, because I know they will come out with a better version next season 🙂

  14. hello dea :)I wanted to drop a link to a post on my blog… I used an outfit of yours for inspiration so I linked your blog post… :)BTW lovely sale scores. I've been trying hard not to buy stuff right now but anthro's sales are so tempting…

  15. What a lovely and reasonably priced outfit! I am also partial to shopping the sales at anthro. But the problem becomes the delusional effect of sale goggles: something I no longer even wishlisted becomes a "MUST HAVE" once it is marked down because I saw it on another blogger and it was cute or pretty or fun or whatever. I am trying to cut way back because although I will begin my first post-grad school prof job this fall, I am still a grad student living on fellowship wages. BTW, I didn't realize you were in North Carolina! I love Durham and spent a bit of time researching in the special collections/archives at Duke a while back, in the early stages of doctoral study. What a lovely area!

  16. Good topic. I have bought things at FP and some on sale. It has become an addiction, but if it's something that is pretty, but not so unique and I don't have a particular "need" for it, I wait for sale. I did manage to get a trench coat that was a collaboration with a designer, can't remember the name or the name of the trench that was black/white design for $100 when it was $499. So there is something to be said for patience.With that said, seeing all the pretty things on the bloggers (oh how I love you guys!) does sometimes inspire longing for items I may not have paid attention to. Conversely, after seeing some items on bloggers I decide I don't want them. I think its a balance.

  17. I try to wait for sales and I am usually pretty good at it, but sometimes I just can't wait. Those items are almost always dresses though. And for some reason, those sell out in my size quicker than other types of things. And I am not even super small! if I were a size zero or two, I would have a REALLY hard time waiting for a sale!

  18. I buy things full price all too often! My sister and I always say everything goes on sale if you just wait it out!! And then are willing to track it down!! Great OOTD and the best part the price!

  19. Here's what I do: if there's a FP item I really like and am concerned will sell out in my size before it goes on sale, I buy it. But I keep the tags on. Then, I pay attention over the next few weeks to how often I want to wear it, what items in my closet I want to pair with it, etc. Then, if a sale hits and there are a lot of items I want, I make the decision to either return the FP item and get them, or skip the sale items and keep the FP one. This doesn't always work–I do confess to occasionally keeping the FP item (usually a dress or cardi) and then allowing myself a sale item or two as well.But it does ensure that I'll get an item I love before it sells out, and it also gives me a real sense of how much I like it and how much I'm likely to wear it. I applied this technique to yesterday's sale BTW. There were a few things I wanted, and I even bought the Imagination Tank (which I'm going to return because it's just not flattering on me). But I just kept thinking of the Secret Treasure dress, so I basically sat out the sale, and got it instead.

  20. I used to mostly buy things full price but now that I know the ins and outs of Anthro (thanks to all you ladies!), I can now wait patiently for what I want. I keep my wish list and only buy from that when it's sales time. That way I don't just buy things because they are cheap. I've done that before and the things just sit in my closet! My motto is if it's meant to be mine….it will go on sale…LOL! Ok, unless its the two wheeler and white beda dress…doh!

  21. There is a site call mint.com helps you recognize how much you spend in each category and down to each store, so you can see how much you spend on Anthro :)Thanks for leaving a comment for me. I believe it is my very first comment in the blog. Yeah! I think I may find enough encouragement to post more OOTD in the future. Very pleasant surprise.

  22. i have just started putting things into my cart and when they go on sale is the time to check out. if they are out of stock at sale time or i'm "over it" by the time they are on sale, oh well. there's always more in my cart than i could ever need!i love this top on you. it didn't seem to fit me right. i couldn't get the shoulders to stay up. but you look amazing! i also adore this skirt! the color is fantastic!!

  23. I confess that I never purchase clothing full price. Fortunately, my taste does not seem to run toward the more popular items at Anthro, so nearly everything I want there makes it to sale and I am usually pretty good about waiting items out to the point of a second cut. I figure if I have existed this many years of my life without that perfect shirt or dress or whatever, then I can certainly wait another few months for a sale or even just go without. Plus Anthro has such high turnover that a great sale item is bound to come my way at some point. And yes, since I have begun reading style blogs, I too have found that I want things just because they seem to look so great on others, so it is a struggle not to succumb to inadvertent peer pressure!

  24. This is a really good topic. For something I really want that I see online, I call CS and see if its even going to be in my area (sometimes my city's 3 anthro's dont get any of certain items). If its not going to be in my city at all, I buy it online at full price and if it doesnt work out I'll return it in-store.For items I try on in-store, I usually go back and add them to my online wish list and then I see how fast they sell out online or in my local stores. That way I can decide if I can afford to wait for it to go on sale. I usually buy really unique blouses at FP. Tops/tanks are more likely in my experience with Anthro to go on sale faster, not run out, and still have enough sizes to choose from.

  25. I debate, plot, and plan to score my Anthro pieces. Mostly this just means I go to the store a lot and freak out and buy things when there is only one left in my size.

  26. What a lovely and reasonably priced outfit! I am also partial to shopping the sales at anthro. But the problem becomes the delusional effect of sale goggles: something I no longer even wishlisted becomes a "MUST HAVE" once it is marked down because I saw it on another blogger and it was cute or pretty or fun or whatever. I am trying to cut way back because although I will begin my first post-grad school prof job this fall, I am still a grad student living on fellowship wages. BTW, I didn't realize you were in North Carolina! I love Durham and spent a bit of time researching in the special collections/archives at Duke a while back, in the early stages of doctoral study. What a lovely area!

  27. While I never buy anything full price at anthro, I have bought many sale items, which can add up money wise, and closet space wise. My new motto is don't buy anything on sale that I wouldn't have considered full price. I don't buy things I wouldn't have really wanted otherwise just because they are great deals. Also, I ask myself "is this worthy of going in my closet?" – ! Many times the answer is no.Also, if I like something at Anthro that I have to let slip through my fingers, I don't fret, because I know they will come out with a better version next season 🙂

  28. Can I ask something totally unrelated? Do you need to wear another layer under the white climbing cowlneck or is a nude bra enough? I keep finding myself coming back to your photos and blog over and over when I am researching items to buy from the other side of the world, so thankyou!

Leave a Reply

