Lazy, Hazy Saturday

I hope everyone’s weekend has been pleasant. I took it really easy and mainly stayed in, getting caught up on my magazine reading, homework, Netflix, and have to take a minute and share with you the best documentary film I’ve seen in a while. It’s called Mad Hot Ballroom and I highly recommend it. It’s about a ballroom dance program in the NYC public school system and features eleven-year-old students who go on to learn the rumba, tango, merengue, foxtrot, and swing while exploring a dance competition, friendships and themselves. Seeing these young kids learning how to move and gain confidence with their newfound skills made me seriously want to do drop everything and sign up to teach in the City. Seriously, it’s such a worthwhile film- definitely do check it out, especially if you have kids.

The shorts I ended up wearing today were a pleasant and surprising find at Old Navy. I had been on the lookout for a comfortable (and flattering) pair of jean shorts, and at $20 I was willing to try them out. They ended up working fairly well for weekend excursions or just lounging by the pool. Seriously, this heat has me leaning towards short and sleeveless.

Just realized that I’ve been killing the Target shoes lately!
15 thoughts on “Lazy, Hazy Saturday

  1. That documentary is a good one, in addition to people with kids, I think it's a great movie for teachers as well :)I agree with Jan, that blue is soooo flattering – good pick!

  2. That tank is reaally pretty on you. I wish it were actually warm enough to wear something like that here in Nebraska. I am still putting cardigans and jackets on most days!

  3. That is a pretty color and you do look nice in it. It is very hot where I am, too. I get jealous when I see some bloggers wearing cardigans now. I've bought quite a few and have not gotten to wear any at all! But of course, I'm buying these cardi's on sale knowing I'll never wear them till September or October.

  4. I have never heard of that documentary. I'm going to check to see if my library has it. Sounds good!Great denim shorts! It's was warm here Saturday and should be another warm and sunny one Sunday before rain moves back in- ugh. For 4 days!!! The only consolation is the grass and my potted flowers are lush!!!

  5. That top is so cute! And it looks great on you! 🙂 I decided not to get it cuz I don't know if I can handle another silk top…I'm more of a cotton girl. Hehe.

  6. Hi Dea…you look great! I just posted about my new jean shorts on Friday…lol! Love me some jean shorts! I used to do ballroom dancing and loved it! I need to get back into it again….there is nothing better than dancing! I'll have to see that movie…thanks for the tip!

  7. Oooo, I love the bright blue on you! You are super adorable, Dea! And you SHOULD be killing those Target sandals — they're amazing! As for the documentary, that sounds so cute! Kids learning how to ballroom dance and rumba? I love it!

  8. That top is so cute! And it looks great on you! 🙂 I decided not to get it cuz I don't know if I can handle another silk top…I'm more of a cotton girl. Hehe.

Leave a Reply

