This goes out to…

She is my oldest friend of 17 years and during this time she has become the sister I never had. We’ve created so many memories, written so many notes to each other, the phone calls, sleepovers, volleyball games, night club dancing, organic cooking….it goes on and on. Although we’re only a phone call away, I’ve missed seeing her “in person” so finally today we made it to Skype and it was just the best feeling being witness to how ridiculous we can get when together. We haven’t been living close to each other for some time and so it was imperative that I made plans to visit her before she leaves. In a couple of months she’ll be heading out on a very important trip and I just want her to be safe and come back right away so we can train for that half marathon we’ve been talking about and maybe even coordinate the time we get pregnant (ridiculous I know)!! I wish there was a way we both could be assured that everything will be fine and she’ll return before we know it… in the meantime, I’ll be visiting her next month and smother her with big hugs, because that’s the kind of sister I am. She checks out the blog regularly and then we giggle about how silly I get about clothes and Anthro- in fact, she’s making sure that when I land in Denver we’ll visit the store together! She knows me all too well.

Summer uniform: dress and sandals, definitely a bathing suit dependant on the location. After running in 90 degree weather today, I just cannot fathom any type of layering.

anthropologie dandelion wish dress
me too sandals
Tonight I got the urge to bake so I made an easy apple cake:
Recipe from Cooks.com:
2 c. fine diced apples
1 c. sugar
1/4 c. oil (Crisco, Wesson) *I used butter instead*
1 egg, beaten
1 c. flour
1 tsp. cinnamon
1 tsp. soda
1/4 tsp. salt
1 tsp. vanilla
1/2 c. chopped nuts
 

Put apples and sugar in bowl; let stand for 1/2 hour. Blend in oil and egg. Mix in dry ingredients; mix well. Add vanilla and nuts; mix well. Bake at 350 degrees for 40-45 minutes in an 8 inch square pan. Delish!
15 thoughts on “This goes out to…

  1. Looks great! I almost wore the dress today as it's perfect for the summer.And you and your best friend sounds so sweet! I have a very close friend I've known since I was in elementary school and that I've been best friends with since we were both 14, and although we drift apart sometime (and back together), I know she'll always be there for me and I will always be there for her.

  2. Oh man! I have this dress (got it on sale), haven't worn it yet and decided yesterday it's time to return it since it didn't get a second cut. And then I see it on you and now I can't return it. It's so cute and is great for summer.

  3. What a nice little tribute to your best friend. My best friend and I met in the 4th grade and I moved after the 6th grade. 20 years later we've only communicated in letters and emails and we still do every week! What a cute dandelion dress!!! I love dandelions even though they are considered weeds..right? Hehe but still love them!

  4. Love your dress! We moved from Denver in December and I miss the Cherry Creek Shopping center… ahhh I used to visit once a week (my daughter had dance 2 blocks away) But we were poor and my hubby was finishing up his residency so I had to mostly just window shop. That and eat at the Bistro in side of Nordy's! They have the best crab bisque soup EVER!!!

  5. You ran in 90 degree weather?! You're a trooper! And I love how much you clearly love your BFF! How fun will it be to shop together?! As usual, you look effortlessly adorable! I love the dress!

  6. There's nothing better than having friends like that. I'm sure you guys will have a wonderful time when you meet again.Why did you have to entice me with the cake???!!! Just when I resolved to cut down on the sweets. πŸ™‚ That apple cake looks good, I might have to give it a try very soon.

Leave a Reply

