Here & There

While soaking up the sun this past weekend I was deeply immersed in the newest novel by Elizabeth Gilbert, the writer of the overly-popular Eat, Pray, Love. I have to admit- I devoured that book and read it in a couple of days. It’s not so much that I related to being the most depressed in my life and needing to escape from it all, but I love adventure, and reading about her journeys to the different countries just had me daydreaming of traveling. So back to her latest work, Committed. Have any of you heard of it or read it? I found it at the right time, since we’re at that moment in our relationship where we’re about to take that next step and even though we talk about getting married, I’ve also always felt comfortable with just being together, without the legal stamp of approval. Almost halfway through the book and am really intrigued by her research on how relationships are defined and practiced in various cultures. It’s a mix of her personal story and a casual historical study of marriage.

On to the outfit: quick and easy. That’s how it is with dresses, and at times I even hesitate accessorising too much because then I feel it takes away from the beauty of simplicity.

anthropologie here & there dress
blowfish cattrell wedges
18 thoughts on “Here & There

  1. You look so beautiful in that dress. πŸ™‚ I love the color for you.I have not read her books, BUT I want to… As far as marriage goes, I guess you are not the girl waving her hand going "gonna put a ring on it…" LOL. I admire couples for being real and devoted to one another. However that may be…

  2. I am getting married sooner rather than later and after nearly 7 years of being together, I sometimes wonder, "what's the point" I have not read that book specifically because I am so close to "ever after" but when it's all said and done, I definitely want to read it πŸ™‚ for the record, I'm extremely excited about getting married, but I think about it constantly.. what it means, how it defines me, our relationship, etc.

  3. krameymartin- it is definitely a comfortable dress and maybe you can still locate it on catalog popbacks!ali- thanks so much! Her first was definitely good, but I really enjoy this current one as welldinagideon- lol, yes, definitely not one of those girls dying for a ring!I'm right there with you- it is truly about devotion between two people, and marriage isn't there just to seal the deal.jan- you're so sweet. I definitely recommend her books, she's a great writerspiffy- we have a lot in common! Fiance and I have been together for almost 5 years, and even though we're engaged, I still think about what being married really means, and if it's truly necessary. I definitely recommend you read this book as it may help solidify what you already feel about your relationship, and maybe better understand what marriage will mean to you. Congrats by the way!jessica- you're halfway there if you already own the book! You wont be disappointed when you get the time.

  4. Dea – love the here & there dress on you! i always find myself shying away from bold prints because i'm scared they won't look right on me. i love how you totally pull it off though, and you're almost making me think about giving it a shot sometime.note about marriage – my husband and i knew eachother for 3 months before getting married. october 15th will be our 5th year in. i'm so excited that i get to grow old with this man and have never regreted one second of my decision to commit to being with him for the rest of my life. he was just telling me tonight that his #1 favorite hug of all time was the one i gave him after we got married (after the kiss of course). I love thinking back on those memories and I love even more that I have him to share them with.sorry about the tangent – but i love everything about marriage, even if i don't necessarily like my husband all the time πŸ˜‰ I might have to check out that book sometime!

  5. that is so funny, Eat Pray Love totally hit me at the right time in my life … it got me thinking and two weeks later I met my husband. I am going to have to pick up Committed! Thanks for the tip!

  6. I love that dress on you!!! Beautiful! I now want to read her first book Eat, Pray Love… but Stephanie Meyers has a new book coming out this week (I am a in love with all things related to Twilight) so I will put that on my 'to read' list!

  7. dea–love the dress. you always look fresh and lovely. but about marriage–it's amazing and beautiful and frustrating and aggravating and exhausting and exhilarating. sometimes all at once. i highly recommend it.

Leave a Reply

