Florals Week, Take 3

After all the hype in Cannes with the remake of Wall Street, I thought it would be a good idea to get caught up-to-date and watch the original. So far I really like it, especially the Trump slickback hair that Douglas and Sheen are sporting – over 23 years ago! Get a clue Trump and take a break from all that gel!!
Can I just take a quick moment and mention this, specifically since it’s pretty much all ladies that read this little spot. Why are we cold to each other and can’t seem to smile or put forth a positive vibe? Today as I’m running from one place to the next, I’d notice that I would make eye contact and smile at people, and the ladies/women just wouldn’t budge and smile back! Almost the opposite – avoid eye contact or just look unapproachable. I’ve had it and say “Enough with the jealousy/comparison/envy/self-consciousness/walls/insecurities”!! Why shouldn’t we be nice to one another, especially at strangers we don’t even know? What have you got to lose to smile a little and possibly create friendly harmony. It just made me feel really sad and like there was something wrong with me for smiling at someone I felt I had a commonality with, from one lady to another!!
What makes me smile on the inside is that it’s florals week in our blog world and due to the cooler weather today, I had to wear me some pants (gasp) and topped things off with this UO blouse I’ve had for forever and bought on super-duper sale for $10!
urban outfitters blouse
j crew merino ethereal ruffle cardi
j crew metallic belt
ae cargo skinnies
target maribel peep toe wedges
16 thoughts on “Florals Week, Take 3

  1. You look fantastic, dea! I often find myself smiling at female strangers regardless of their reaction. It is important to try to undo that skepticism or disarm any negative feelings that so many of us have unfortunately been socialized to exhibit toward one another. One of the indulgences of graduate study was spending a lot of time fortifying what I already considered to be a strong feminist identity and one of the things I think I have to remind myself when disappointed by the less than feminist responses I encounter from women in the world is that not everyone has had the political engagement, personal benefits, or self esteem boost that such a feminist education provides to women. Instead so many of us have seen (and some have been lured by) the individualized benefits awarded to women who play into the patriarchal game by out sexist'ing men, in order to be an exception to ubiquitous misogyny. Anyway, I encourage you to keep fighting the women-positive good fight regardless of the response you get!

  2. I know what you mean about sometimes getting the cold shoulder. I always try and give a hello or smile to strangers and when I get a snub, I just try and be friendlier! Most of the time I at least get a little smile back. Let's just be nice to each other!!!I'm loving floral week! Even if your weather is cool today, you look springy and great!

  3. I totally understand what you mean about unfriendly people. I knew that I had been jaded when I came to Oregon and was surprised when someone smiled at me. And was friendly. And meant it. Maybe certain parts of the country are just more laid-back, some more up-tight. I would have been shocked if a stranger smiled at me in DC, but Oregonians are pretty friendly so far.I love all your florals this week πŸ™‚

  4. It was cool up here, too! (although I guess it's always cooler up in the mountains, huh? πŸ™‚ It's so frustrating dressing for this kind of weather. I totally hear you on the kindness thing. It amazes me how people can be so cold. This happens to me often, especially at school when I say "hello" or "good morning" or "how are you?" to people…and they just straight up do not respond–AT ALL! They just look at me and keep walking! I mean, I'm talking to you for a reason. Even if it's small talk, it's so rude to ignore someone else.

  5. WOW. This outfit is so polished and well put together. You look like you stepped out of one of those Vogue spread on stylish working women. This is a perfect example of a beautiful outfit for real, beautiful women. I love it. Everything. The color combo, the shape, the drape–absolutely everything. It looks phenomenal. Really.

  6. Cute cute look!Great observations! I will admit I am trying to get over my being cold to strangers, but since blogging daily outfits and getting positive feedback from girls I don't even know, I am doing my best to translate it to the real world as well!

  7. I really appreciate your post today. The coldness between women is tragically commonplace. I grew up in a place where it's normal for complete strangers to greet with a smile and a hello. I wish it were like that everywhere, especially between us ladies. This is something that I really appreciate about our little blogging community. Everyone is so positive. It's completely refreshing, and I'm happy to be a part of it πŸ˜‰ Btw…you don't wear pants often, but when you do you wear them with such chicness. I love this outfit!!

  8. Looks lovely!I have the EXACT same sentiments regarding sending positive energy towards other women and receiving a cold stare of confusion. Unfortunately I have found over years that a womans worst critic is other women; men aren't so hard on each other. Every woman has her reason, some are having a bad day, some are insecure, others are trying to put on a front for whatever trivial significance and so forth. Either way go around smiling, the world needs it πŸ™‚

  9. I'm shy, so I find it difficult to make eye contact and smile at people, but if someone smiles at me I do smile back. When I was younger I used to get a lot of cold vibes from women, but not much these days. Maybe some women are cold to younger women because they automatically see them as a threat. Which is sad.

  10. That's so bizarre about the women you encountered today! I'm so used to greeting people at work that sometimes I'll accidentally do it in public, and most of the time people are nice.The muted color scheme you are wearing today looks awesome on you!

  11. I love your outfit!!! You always look so great! I don't know why women can be so mean, I think the older I get and more mature I realize that if I am happy with myself I don't have those feelings of envy and can be friendly to everyone.

  12. I love your outfit!!! You always look so great! I don't know why women can be so mean, I think the older I get and more mature I realize that if I am happy with myself I don't have those feelings of envy and can be friendly to everyone.

  13. I love your outfit!!! You always look so great! I don't know why women can be so mean, I think the older I get and more mature I realize that if I am happy with myself I don't have those feelings of envy and can be friendly to everyone.

Leave a Reply

