The Little Spark that Could

There comes a time in every little blogger’s life where things get sticky. This little blogger starts wondering why she’s taking pictures every day, why is she posting for everyone to see, heck, what do I have to say that is so darn important? This was me for the last few days friends, as I just didn’t have it in me to post and just didn’t see anything in me worth sharing. It was downright gloomy and I even tried snapping out of it by revisiting some of my favorite bloggers to gain inspiration of some sort.

Then on Sunday I dragged myself to Anthro to snap out of it and found the one piece that made it all better. Figures Anthro, figures.

I found it in the sale room for $30 and just got the biggest smile on my face. I had only seen it before here on Fallon. It was just such a cheerful piece and reminiscent of older Anthro. When I took it to the dressing room and slipped it on, the spark reignited. It brought back the love, simply put. I figure that I can’t force these things, it’s either there or it’s not, and sometimes when life takes over it’s difficult to remain ignited and delighted over all the pretties. So I reminded myself to take it easy and find beauty in the little things, like this little dress.
 
The icing on the cake was finding the Kimchi Blue Whipstiched Flat. They are so comfortable and such feminine flair. I love the terracotta color and will definitely wear them all summer long.
anthropologie burgeoning latitudes dress (thanks Pamela!)
urban outfitters kimchi blue whipstiched flat
necklace from local boutique
25 thoughts on “The Little Spark that Could

  1. You look absolutely ready for the beach! As for the blogging, I often wonder that myself. For me, if anything, it's a great way to catalog what I wear. Sometimes I lose sight of that, and feel that I have to come up with new and more interesting things to wear, but that's simply not true. It's also a great means for self-expression. So much of you is judged on first impressions–what you wear sometimes tell people who are you. I find that blogging is a great way to get inspirations and refine my style (which runs the gamut, as it should). I no longer look to fashion magazines for inspirations (who could wear that in real life anyway?), but other blogs.Just don't lose sight of your style, Dea. I love what you wear and how you wear it. Keep up the good work!

  2. Oh DEA! I know what you mean about getting "stuck". But just know that no matter what you do or don't post, were always here for you!!I bought that same dress for $30 last week!! It's called Burgeoning Latitudes. I'm so glad you found the beauty in it, as did I!

  3. Tien- you're the best at making me feel better. Thanks for all your honest feedback and it really is refreshing to hear that I'm not alone in trying to appropriately document my outfits while maintaining creativity. elledee- aww, thanks so much and you're right- this is a great spring dress.pamela- thanks so much for the name, I'll update the post right away. Also, high to you for getting the same dress at the same fabulous price, isn't that just the best feeling at Anthro? Can't wait to see it on you.eunice- thanks so much for your kind words

  4. What a fun, bold print. I think sometimes we need to find our re-unearth that one great piece that reminds us of why we like the things we do and why we find it enjoyable.You look great as always, and I am loving those sandals. Great find.

  5. I agree with Tien — you look perfectly beach ready! I love it! The dress is so cheery and sweet! And whenever you get into a funk of why you are blogging your outfits, remember the fun in it! And how many people here love to see what you put together — me included!

  6. I just bought that dress last week and it makes me happy too! I love reading your blog, it is a great source of inspiration. : )

  7. What a find! That would motivate me to post again. Yeah- sometimes the going gets tough in the world of blogging…-Amanda(The Pretty Pauper)Feel free to follow my blog :)www.prettypauperstyle.blogspot.com

  8. I agree with Tien. You gotta do it for yourself, since at the end of the day, it's you typing, falling over tired. But it's satisfying to see the last several months, years of posts? Like letters or a journal to yourself. I wish I had started earlier.I love your blog. Glad you're back.

  9. Dea, I hope you're feeling much better now. I have loved all your outfits since I found your blog. You inspire me to get out of my "carpool mom" clothes of jeans and a shirt!I ordered this dress as well, and I can only hope it looks as good on me as it does on you. :o)

  10. I am so sad I didn't try this on when I saw it in store on Friday. I had no idea the price was so reasonable! And it is just darling on you! I've tried lately to compel myself to blog more regularly but when I started a few years ago, I really only did it when I had something significant to discuss or had a series of new things to catalog. Now my blog's written content has been pretty minimal compared to what it was before. But most of my intellectual energy is being spent in the dissertation writing department. I hope you continue to find a reason to blog because I really enjoy your style and musings.

  11. Dea! I am so glad you picked this one up! I too found it at Anthro last wek for $30. I have been avoiding it, but now I definitely needed to try it on. I was so surprised how much I love it. I have worn it twice now since last Tuesday, and have received, eh, 10 comments on it. Well worth the $30!

  12. I completely understand how you feel about blogging and have been there myself! It comes in phases but we're entitled to that. As long as you continue to do what you enjoy, that's all that matters šŸ™‚ Love the vibrant colors of the dress, and for $30 what a great score!

  13. I totally know what you mean–I ask myself every now and then why blog and why continue to blog. But in the end it's just a lot of fun for me! I'm glad you were able to come back to it too.

  14. I go through this a lot, maybe like once a week! Where I am wondering why I do it. what is the point? why do I care, why do others care about what I wear!!!! I think sometimes I just need a break, and I always come back refreshed. I love the bold print of this dress!!! LOVE!

  15. I completely understand how you feel about blogging and have been there myself! It comes in phases but we're entitled to that. As long as you continue to do what you enjoy, that's all that matters šŸ™‚ Love the vibrant colors of the dress, and for $30 what a great score!

  16. Oh DEA! I know what you mean about getting "stuck". But just know that no matter what you do or don't post, were always here for you!!I bought that same dress for $30 last week!! It's called Burgeoning Latitudes. I'm so glad you found the beauty in it, as did I!

Leave a Reply

