Fall Foliage On A Saturday

Very randomly, Dr. Love and I went to a birthday bash last night to celebrate a friend of mine from back in the high school days. He had rented out a club and when we got there it was full of people I did not know at all. We arrived with one of my close friends and her husband but besides them, no familiar face in sight. It was so strange because it was like a flashback of back in high school when we’d end up at a house party and only know 2 people! I thought to myself the other night, “I’m getting too old for this”. I share this because I wonder if it was just me not making enough of an effort to be social, or if those days of attending parties full of strangers are over. Anyone else experience this lately? I don’t think it has to do so much with age as it relates to how fulfilled I am with my group of friends and personal relationship with doc.

Finding the Fall Foliage Sweater Dress was a journey. I’d been stalking it for some time on the Sept. catalog but it was either no longer available or the wrong size. Finally a Small popped up and I clicked around quickly for fear of not seeing it again. Once it delivered I notice a hole on the front of the dress so called CS and they ended giving me a $20 certificate as a damage discount. Not bad! Then I find out that the dress had a second markdown in stores, so went to my local and took care of that. I packed it for the trip because I knew moms would mend it beautifully and now I can’t even find where the hole was. After such a detailed story, how could I not keep this darling little number and wear a fall sweater on the brim of springtime!

anthropologie sparrow fall foliage sweater dress
anthropologie leaps and bounds belt
at locket
anthropologie pinwheel tights
anthropologie miss albright crossway heels

19 thoughts on “Fall Foliage On A Saturday

  1. I'm over attending parties full of strangers, too. It gets to be such a challenge to make small talk with people you know you will never meet again. In college, it was all about making the connections but now, as I'm older, random parties aren't that much fun. That being said, I still find myself at one or two every so often!! 🙂 I love that sweater dress belted! How great that your mom could mend the little hole plus you rec'd the markdown AND a gift certificate. SWEET!

  2. Love, love, love these photos! AND your outfit. You look great. THose tights, those shoes, that hair–perfection!I don't go to parties. Dinner parties, or intimate gatherings, but no parties. My friends tease me for being a hermit. I

  3. dea, i don't post often but am compelled to today! i wish i took a photo of myself earlier b/c i swear–we were twins! i wore my fall foliage w/the pinwheel tights today too! albeit, i had on a brown studded belt (from anthro last yr, but i forget the name!) and j.crew vintage roadster short boots, but essentially the same! i like how you worked it with the light belt and navy crossaways–broke up all the brown much better then i did!as for parties, i'm definitely beyond the whole house party full of strangers…now i go to big parties full of screaming toddlers! same difference?! i live vicariously through my 2 yr old–her social life is way more exciting these days! 🙂

  4. Love the sweater dress on you – it looks great belted! Glad your mom could make the repair you needed! I adore the Leaps & Bounds belt so much, I want it in the other color as well! No parties for me these days. except fir the Chuck-E-Cheese variety – ha!

  5. Hi!I hope that you are having a lovely vacation! Your pictures look like they are straight form an Anthro catalog! I think that your observation about socializing is correct. When you are content with you life, you aren't as compelled to meet and party with strangers. I do not think it is getting old – I call it being at peace. I am also in awe of your ability to snag Anthro clothes AND recieve discounts. You are truly a gifted shopper. Angie

  6. pamela- you're so right about having difficulty in making coherent conversations with people you'll never see again. It's bound to happen that we'll be in this same position again, but I just don't find it as pressing to mingle as I used to. tien- I will pass on your praise to the photographer b/c without him, all of this would not exist!I'm with you on dinner parties, because it provides an opportunity for people to sit together and really get to know each other, for better or worse!ady- thanks so much! I took a chance with the tights when they went on sale and now they're a favorite.stef- so glad you commented, I love hearing from people! High five for being sweater dress twins and I would have loved to see your outfit. Clearly you are the most stylish mama at the 2-year old parties!! I can't wait to give up my socializing for my future kids'.jan- I love this belt also and picked it up in the other color as well! Aren't moms the best for fixing things and making the world all better?ebe- thanks so much for the well wishes on the vacation. It's definitely been relaxing and a pleasure to be home. I definitely agree with you that all these feelings are ultimately about being at peace with yourself. I love meeting new people, but it's not pressing to me, and that makes the whole experience so much more enjoyable! As for the Anthro deal- it worked out pretty nicely, step by step, and I couldn't be happier! I enjoy the dress that much more.

  7. Hi Dea,Looks like you are having a lovely visit back home. You look head to toe gorgeous today! I too ask my Mom to mend things for me, I greatly appreciate her for doing it and it saves me the frustration!My husband and I are not party goers either. We are just content being at home. The only thing close to it is taking our son to b-day parties or going out to dinner with our close friends, and that is good enough! =)Hope you enjoy the rest of your visit with your family and have a safe trip back home.

  8. I feel the exact same way about parties. I just have other priorities – they bore me now. I would much rather enjoy some good live music, good conversation with a few close friends and a good drink.That dress looks amazing on you. And the tights add so much detail – love it!

  9. I am right with you. I haven't even been to a party full of strangers lately, but I have felt that way when entering a bar or a club (which I do very rarely anyway.)What a score on that dress…it's gorgeous with your coloring.

  10. You look STUNNING in these photos! I -love- the first one of you! Wow! And Anthro's CS was so nice to give you a damage discount! I love it when retailers help customers out. It's too often that we hear about bad CS. 😦 Isn't it amazing how moms can really mend nearly ANYTHING? I often wonder if I'll be able to do the same for MY future children, haha! As for parties full of strangers, I was never good at those. Although I'm finding that it's actually easier for me now than it was before when I was younger to socialize with a crowd full of strangers, though the strangers themselves definitely dictate how well socializing efforts go!

  11. I feel the exact same way about parties. I just have other priorities – they bore me now. I would much rather enjoy some good live music, good conversation with a few close friends and a good drink.That dress looks amazing on you. And the tights add so much detail – love it!

  12. dea, i don't post often but am compelled to today! i wish i took a photo of myself earlier b/c i swear–we were twins! i wore my fall foliage w/the pinwheel tights today too! albeit, i had on a brown studded belt (from anthro last yr, but i forget the name!) and j.crew vintage roadster short boots, but essentially the same! i like how you worked it with the light belt and navy crossaways–broke up all the brown much better then i did!as for parties, i'm definitely beyond the whole house party full of strangers…now i go to big parties full of screaming toddlers! same difference?! i live vicariously through my 2 yr old–her social life is way more exciting these days! 🙂

Leave a Reply

