Right Out of an Anthro Catalog

When I had my interview at Anthropologie and they asked me how Anthro and I met, I told them that it was “all about the catalog my dear”. My mother introduced us really, and it was a match made in heaven. I was back home for the holidays a few years ago and saw this beautiful catalog on top of her desk, and immediately started flipping through it. Each outfit was amazing, beautiful, the models had this original look about them, and I couldn’t understand how each piece of clothing could be so perfect and special. It’s ridiculous how I ramble on and on about it, but I adored each page of that catalog, and then was told there were stores as well!! It wasn’t until a year and a half later that I was able to step foot in Anthropologie, and of all places it was at the gorgeous Georgetown location in DC. It was as if the catalog had come alive! Each SA was perfectly attired in Anthro pieces, the design and layout was like no other- I had forgotten I was actually at a store!! This particular location has two stories so it’s safe to assume that I spent a good couple of hours there, just exploring away. So in closing, thank goodness my mom has amazing fashion sense and still manages to be cooler than me when it comes to clothes. I love her and the store that much, that I’ll take a backseat to mom’s style!

So with this outfit, another inspiration from the September 2009 issue. I really really like the flow of this skirt, the petals of blue speak to me! I didn’t realize it this morning but I’m covered from head to toe in Anthro. Also, today is the big debut of the famous bouquet-of-roses heels that I can’t get enough of. I’m officially looking down at my feet instead of forward so I can avoid getting run over. They are absolutely timeless, exactly why I lean towards this store.

anthropologie skinny striped blouse
anthropologie susquehanna cardigan
anthropologie the-in-crowd necklace
anthropologie bold felicia skirt
anthropologie berry bush tights
anthropologie bouquet-of-roses heels
on coat

22 thoughts on “Right Out of an Anthro Catalog

  1. I think it's really interesting(is that the right word?) that all of Anthro's pieces are pretty and kind of quirky, but also very timeless. When you wear an Anthro piece, you always seem to look on trend but could've had it for years. I don't buy a ton of Anthro because some of it is pricey, but I think hard about my purchases there because I know I'll have that piece for a while.So wordiness over – you look beautiful and timeless, Dea, and I love that skirt on you.

  2. What a great story about how you and Anthro "met"! It's crazy how you can fall in love with store, isn't it? I am loving the blues in your outfit today, and that pop of red on your feet. The skirt is so gorgeous!

  3. lisa- I couldn't agree with you more, just really unique pieces. The prices are much, considering, but when you keep them for years, for me it's worthwhile. Thank you for your kind words, the skirt was a surprise buytien- thanks, I'll have to share with my photographer that the images are catalog worthytara b- thank you lady, truly appreciate itangela- I'm so glad it all turned out so well!amy kelinda- I know, I can't believe the type of relationship I have with this storeelaine- the roses are so darling, aren't they? This is why they've become my favorite pair of shoes

  4. You look so pretty today! I am always trying to "creatively layer" and this looks just perfect! I like the Berry Bush Tights with the Bouquet Of Roses heels- I'll have to try that!

  5. I love that skirt..sometimes I forget how long it takes for retail chain stores to open up more locations. Like Madewell for example – amazing stuff, but limited stores and no online retail. What's up with that?

  6. maria- layering is a must these days, even though there have been times when I run out with something flimsy!fashion therapist- that's too bad, it really doesn't help when you love something online but can't try it on at the store and have to swallow shipping costs, no fun!sarah- tell me about it, I can't get enough of them!teresa- thanks for the sweet comment and for stopping by!courtnee- good to see you back!! thanks lady, I know you were always a fan of the old navy coat!

  7. Hi Dea,You do look like you just stepped out of an Anthro catalog! I love your outfit, but you know I love those heels even more. Love how you paired them with the berrybush tights – excellent! 🙂

  8. Oh my goodness, I think I just scored a pair of bouquet of roses heels!! I just checked my wishlist (for the 5th time today) and saw that they had 1 pair in my size so I quickly put them in my cart and checked out. Hoping they won't cancel my order! I just had to tell someone and I new you would understand. :-)Oh, and it is snowing like crazy in Dallas today. We have about 4 inches of snow and are expected to have up to 6 or more. It's been snowing nonstop for 10 hours now. Unheard of here in TX! My son was very happy to wake up and see all the snow and to find out that school was cancelled. 🙂

Leave a Reply

