Rain Rain Go Away

Really tired of talking about the weather since it feels so superficial, but it’s really cramping my style and getting tired of the lack of sun and plethora of rain. It affects my mood, my decision on what to wear, and how much time I’ll spend walking versus driving my car. I had it all planned out for today, was going to wear the highly-coveted Bouquet-of-Roses heels with something, anything, but after finding out that rain was on the horizon, I had to keep them safely tucked at home. Bummer, but there’s always tomorrow!! I really do like the winter, but I think at this point I’m ready for some sort of change.

So I stopped by Anthropologie to return a couple of items that were bought on impulse and no rationale was really applied when pulling the trigger, and since I was there, I really wanted to try on a couple of newish dresses.

First, there is the Reed Shirtdress, which I simply adore. Cannot get enough of plaid, and picked up both the blue and orange versions in sizes 0 and 2 just to get a better understanding of the fit.  I loved it on Kim and Tien and had to see for myself. Here’s the winner:

Even though I’m a big fan of red, the blue number spoke to me. Oh, and size 0 fit best because I’m not packing much on top and have pretty small arms (even though I try to build muscle there).

The next dress I went for is the All Seasons Shirtdress in the ivory color. I liked this color best because it’s really versatile and gave me a vintage/antique feel. I tried on the size 0 and fit tts. No gaps anywhere and not any looser than it needed to be. I liked it okay. Definitely waiting for a sale with this one because I feel I can find it elsewhere, and maybe even in my closet! I wish I had my camera with me so I could show the fit, but maybe next time!

As for what I wore today, I’ve been meaning to wear this “cape” for the longest time but because it’s a unique piece, I always have to take extra time in thinking of how to wear it. Decided to keep the top part of me in sync using the same color, so tucked in this blouse underneath. It has pretty ruffles in the front, but I’ll have to showcase those another day. And I totally love these shoes, even though I didn’t end up wearing them for the remainder of the day since that darn wind is so strong.

ann taylor blouse
f21 cape!
zara plum skinnies
anthropologie seychelles practically perfect pumps
afghani earrings (a present)

23 thoughts on “Rain Rain Go Away

  1. I sympathize with you on the weather…it gets so depressing when you have day after day of rain and darkness! It really affects me too. We are having a sunny day today but the rain is supposed to be back on Wednesday (boo!) which is hampering my decision on what to wear for my Valentine's weekend!I love that cape!! I wanted that same one from F21 but never got around to buying it. Now I'm kicking myself! It really looks fabulous on you!

  2. That capelet is divine! I wanted to get it when it first came out, but had zero idea on how to style it – you look fantastic in it. It's modern but still very retro, if that makes any sense.

  3. em sauer- thanks for stopping by!mia- glad to hear I'm not the only one so sensitive to the weather, it really can affect my mood! As for the cape, you never know with f21, you might still find it at a store!rosa- I'm trying really hard to resist not getting the shirtdress, but I just may give inthe daily fashionista- thanks for the sweet wordslisa- I totally get where you're coming from. I like modern & retro together!

  4. I have both the reed shirtdress and the all seasons shirtdress. Same colors even. I have yet to wear the reed though… And my ivory shirtdress is in constant rotation because it is so comfortable and looks good even with bulky sweaters. (a definite plus in the winter) Best purchase I have made in a long time!

  5. I live in Southern California and it has rained so much this past month. I don't own anything cute for rain weather and I think I have S.A.D. seasonal adjustment disorder. I long for hot weather, bright clothing, and summer session.

  6. ady- I remember seeing the all seasons shirtdress on you and it looks great. I love the way you styled it, especially for the wintertime. I'm thinking more and more about the reed, in case they don't have my size if/when it goes on sale!elizabeth edith- thanks, appreciate that comment!roxy- a cape, who knew!maggy- I totally feel you, it dampens my style the rain! It affects my shoes, so then that plays a role in what my outfit will be!! I wish lots of sun for you!

  7. yay you're wearing the F21 cape! I'm so glad you have it and is wearing it. I wanted it too but just didn't know how to wear it, especially down here in muggy houston! But it look so pretty on you and with the pretty background you have!

  8. Ugh, rainy days totally make me feel lethargic, so I feel you. I hadn't even realized how dreary it had been in my neck of the woods until the sun came out last weekend and I felt CONFUSED, haha! I hope some sunshine goes your way soon!I am loving the Reed shirtdress and am hoping to catch it in my Anthro store tomorrow! Eeeek!

  9. I live in Southern California and it has rained so much this past month. I don't own anything cute for rain weather and I think I have S.A.D. seasonal adjustment disorder. I long for hot weather, bright clothing, and summer session.

  10. I have both the reed shirtdress and the all seasons shirtdress. Same colors even. I have yet to wear the reed though… And my ivory shirtdress is in constant rotation because it is so comfortable and looks good even with bulky sweaters. (a definite plus in the winter) Best purchase I have made in a long time!

Leave a Reply

