Coffee Shops and Sweet Potato Soup

I really enjoy coffee shops for everything when I’ve had enough of being home. Sometimes the purpose is to find a corner and sip on yummy tea while catching up with the latest book, but most often you will find me at a coffee shop to do homework reading & writing because attempts at doing just that at home are futile. I end up getting distracted by things that need straightening out, or the television, or picking up magazines, or even doing housework, just to avoid the actual work that’s due. Pathetic I know, so this is why I’m spending a good portion of my day at this cute spot. It’s locally-owned, in the back you can play pool or purchase incense, and it has the best tea around-very earthy. Oh, and this is what I decided to wear when getting my study on.

alloy red knit dress
anthropologie mullion tights
target kamaria ankle booties

I felt really cold this morning for some reason and wanted to wear something cozy. Ever so randomly found this dress on clearance last winter at the alloy.com site and really like it. Also found these tights on sale for $10 and they make me kind of want to do math, or play tetris, one of the two!

Previously I had mentioned that I wanted to maybe explore other topics for the blog, things that I enjoy and are me. Since attempts at cooking are always on the agenda, yesterday I decided to make sweet potato soup and thought it’d be good to share the recipe with anyone interested!!

1. First, gather around a few sweet potatoes. I used 5 but it’s completely up to you how much soup you feel like making/eating.
2. Boil the potatoes in a pot filled with water. You just want to have enough water that will cover all the potatoes.
3. Allow boiling to occur for at least 45 minutes, and then check with a fork to see how done they are (done is determined by level of smushiness, the more the better). Be careful: too smushy leads to potatoes falling apart
4. Pour water out and take potatoes out of pot. Peel off the skin and then you have two options: either put the potatoes in a new/cleaned pot and smush with fork OR place potatoes in food processor to get a creamier texture. Basically the goal here is to have the potatoes broken apart.
5. Place puree or smashed-up potatoes in pot and then add water. Here it is up to you how much water you want to include depending on your soup preference. I prefer more creamy so I place enough that covers all the potatoes and then an inch, and then stir. If it looks like I need more, I add little by little, while continuing to stir. At this point your burner should be on medium-low/medium heat
6. Continue stirring for about 10-15 minutes and gradually add the following: rosemary (fresh is best), 1/2 tsp. basil, 1 package of instant grits (butter flavored adds more flavor), 1-2 slices (depending on preference) of american cheese, and 1 tsp. wheat germ
7. Continue stirring for 5-10 more minutes. At this point the soup should be bubbling a bit, and with the extra ingredients you may want to add a little more water, again, depending on your preference of soup texture.
8. Allow to cool off for 10 minutes and there you have it: homemade sweet potato soup!!

I give all the credit to my mother for making up this soup recipe and can’t get enough of sweet potato’s benefits of vitamins A & C, fiber, not to mention it’s low in calories (if that matters to you). Hope you enjoy!!!

9 thoughts on “Coffee Shops and Sweet Potato Soup

  1. Such a cute outfit! That sweater dress does look really comfy and the color looks great on you.I love coffee shops too. The one you go to sounds fun – I've never been to one with a pool table or selling incense, I want to go! :)You soup recipe looks and sounds delish. I'm going to copy it right now.

  2. You look waaaay better than I do when I study :)I like the soup recipe too, I should try it!I found you through adored austin since you were also in NC, and have been following for a while, mostly because you're totally cute 🙂

  3. I spend every day of my senior year in high school at a pool hall. I don't play so much anymore, but I had my own cue at the time (until it was stolen from my car). I still love walking to a pool table, especially with a group of guys who think girls can't play, and making bank shots while running the table. The expressions on their faces are priceless!Love your outfit, and those boots are just too cute!

  4. sharonlei – the tights are definitely unique, haha. As for the soup, go have some, it's good for you!onefashionistaDiva – thanks for stopping by, and glad you like the tights ;)Athena – so glad you commented and thanks for liking the dress! The coffee shop is awesome, a reflection of the neighborhood. Yey, I hope you make the soup. You'll have to tell me how it turned out!!ElizabethEdith – so glad you found me and even cooler that we're living in the same region (the triangle). Thanks so much for the sweet words, and if you ever see me studying at a coffee shop please say hello!Tien – you rock even more for being a whiz at playing pool. I have totally witnessed that scene when a group of guys look all perplexed when a girl steps in and then they're blown away when they see she's got game!! So cool that was you!

  5. That is such an eye catching, red dress! You should wear it more often.Hmmm. I wish I could follow even a simple recipe … it never turns out like the pic!

Leave a Reply

