Dress for success

3

6

8

Anthropologie en plein air dress, bow belt, malagasy woven tote, target sandals

A million and one thank yous to everyone who chimed in with the warm wishes regarding this most exciting time. There are plenty of moments when I’m still in disbelief myself over the changes that are slowly taking place and the new person that will be joining our little party of two. I had been meaning to come back here and document the sartorial side of expecting, just because it’s been such a new and at times, challenging process of discovering what may fit but not flatter, flatter but not exactly fit, stretching out (literally)┬ámy current haves for as long as it can zip/button/belt, and making room in my closet (and in my mind) for new pieces in unfamiliar (to me) sizes and styles.

The first trimester went well and aside from myself and a couple of close friends, no one knew the extra package I was packing. Every day I would wonder if it was going to be the day when I showed, and by how much. All my clothes fit fine and the thought of planning ahead for more accomodating choices seemed inapplicable. And then slowly those numbers on the scale began to change, and certain tops where no longer fitting as they should and skirts kept getting zipped up higher and higher. There were those who’d tell me “you have plenty of time to grow, no need to buy new things for a long time”. Well, if it’s one thing I’ve learned to not do while pregnant is generalize. Everyone is so different and at times sweeping generalizations can send one into alarm mode, wondering if they’re growing too fast, not growing fast enough, conscious of that extra serving of dinner the other night and pushing for that extra lap around the neighborhood.

All of this to say that I have been growing my friends, and even though at times my condition may not be apparent and it’s not until I say something that people start to look “down there” for a visual confirmation, I can feel it with everything I wear. Which is why lately, the easiest thing to throw on and squeeze into one last time has been dresses. Not only are they a no-brainer for those mornings when you can’t be bothered with constructing a creative combo, but it allows for more room to breathe. From an observer’s perspective the dress above didn’t seem like it would leave me much┬ábreathing room, but I was pleasantly surprised as the zipper moved its way up up up with almost no issues. Placed a belt on for the illusion of some form of waist and jazzed up the dress with bright sandals for an easy, no fuss preggo outfit.

*This is also the last time I’ll probably be able to wear this dress until next year, but hey, that’s why blogging is here- for the memories.

5 thoughts on “Dress for success

  1. Ahh! I love that dress, and you look amazing. I don’t plan on having kids for a long time, but sometimes I put on a dress or top and think–this one would work if I’m ever preggo. Ha!

  2. Oh my goodness, Dea, this is amazing news! I’m so so happy for you! I hope you will share this experience with us. I’m at the stage in my life when I’m starting to seriously think about having a family (the clock is ticking whether you want it or not). I’d love to know what it’s really like to become a mother. I always knew I wanted to be one but there’s also so much fear.
    The dress looks gorgeous on you by the way!

  3. Such a beautiful outfit! You look fantastic. One of the things that I found when I was pregnant was that I was bigger at the end of the day than I was at the beginning so things that were comfortable in the mornings might not work so well by the end of the day. Not sure why that is but a few of my friends had similar experiences.

Leave a Reply

